Edit profiles

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
Lizzz
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:45 pm

Edit profiles

Post by Lizzz » Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:45 am

Hi

I was working with the offline editor Win XP. 10.6. Because I have no board available at the moment I don't know if you have the same problem with it. (the boards hardware died and is still with the dealer)

I wanted to make a profile (for scrollers in my case). Only in the profile editor all the collums where you can put your names/dmx values etc. in, are overlapping what makes puting the right values on the right place impossible. And if you edit a column and you exit it puts in a completely different value.

So pleace have a look! I need this to work and the old aplha software is not realy stable. So I need to have one work properly like everybody else.

Thanks.

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2422
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Edit profiles

Post by BobbyHarrell » Fri Jun 26, 2009 7:35 am

I have checked in the latest beta and don't see any issues. Sounds like you need to expand certain columns and contract others so that you can see all of the data.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

Lizzz
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:45 pm

Re: Edit profiles

Post by Lizzz » Fri Jun 26, 2009 7:12 pm

I've checked the latest beta aswell, the problem's still there. (alpha 10.4.12 was fine)

I'll explain a little bit better:

When going to [edit profile] (S8) and editing a new or existing profile, the column-headers seem to be above the wrong column. When using the horizontal scrollbar some columns do scroll, others don't.

So not knowing which column is which, or which column just scrolled makes it very confusing to edit a profile.
Expanding columns doesn't help. I then can read all values, but I'm still not sure in what column they are.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Edit profiles

Post by RobertBell » Fri Jun 26, 2009 9:04 pm

You're right - the horizontal scroll bar does nothing. Please hover over the splitter between the columns until you get the double arrow icon - then double click. That should resize the column to fit. Do that for all.
What resolution are you running at? Perhaps a screen shot would be useful. (Alt+Prt Scr then paste in Paint).
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Edit profiles

Post by gooze » Sat Jun 27, 2009 3:16 am

Latest beta. Ole. Still scrambled. This is such a long standing issue! Please have a look. I have reported this already so many times. Please change your screen sizes or resolutions.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Edit profiles

Post by gooze » Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:08 am

Afbeelding 1.png
Afbeelding 1.png (34.35 KiB) Viewed 1360 times
And here is the screenshot for that!

With double clicking or trying to resize the columns you are dragging the column separators over eachother. This makes it even more confusing, because the column heading is not in line anymore with the information underneath it.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Edit profiles

Post by gooze » Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:18 am

10.6.1008

It appeared to be fixed in 10.6.1005 or 1004 but it is back again.
Still it is the OLE that suffers the most from this.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2422
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Edit profiles

Post by BobbyHarrell » Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:52 am

I have no problem with this on my laptop.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

User avatar
mat
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

Re: Edit profiles

Post by mat » Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:57 am

I also have the problem on mine
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Edit profiles

Post by MickCrozier » Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:04 am

problems like this must make developers lives full of joy!

No problems on either of the 2 systems I run the ole on (10.6.1008).
System 1 - XP - Nvidia Video - 1680x1050
System 2 - XP - Nvidia Video - 1024x768
Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

Post Reply