Midi/SMPTE Frames

User submitted ideas for how we can make the Palette and Light Palette Consoles better
MattKlasmeier
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Midi/SMPTE Frames

Post by MattKlasmeier » Tue May 20, 2008 3:38 pm

Is it possible to have frames added to the hour minutes seconds display? Is there any way that this clock could be highlighted or made more prominent? I almost didn't even know my console was seeing the sync.

GTA
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 1:09 am

Re: Midi/SMPTE Frames

Post by GTA » Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:01 am

Agree, compare with 500 series. It got to have the 1, 5 and 10 frames selection add to the existing step of hours, mins, seconds and frames display.

This make easier to count how long the next step of scene would be follow. Don't forget 30 frames a second, 60 seconds a min method not ease calculation by human brain.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Midi/SMPTE Frames

Post by RobertBell » Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:17 am

Possible to make more prominant? Hmmm. Running out of space.
We don't update frames on that clock as it's really pointless. That clock (display) is only updated 5 times a second. You couldn't even read it that fast. When you do Learn Timing, it is frame accurate.
When you enter the blue box of a smpte cell, a tick on the wheel is one second. A shift tick is one frame.

We don't have the +5 second thing the 500 had. It's just 5 ticks. Frankley, I've never ever needed that sort of interface and I've done A LOT of this. I'm trying to imagine why one would need that. Clearly poeple doing smpte on the 500 go about things very differently than I do. I'll need more insight.

I just did a training in Hong Kong and they too asked for this. To their best efforts, they could not convince me it was necessary. Maybe because of how I do Learn Timing vs. editing and typing from a spreadsheet that the video producer gives me.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

MattKlasmeier
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: Midi/SMPTE Frames

Post by MattKlasmeier » Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:00 pm

Bump..

I just got done working on another SMPTE project and wanted to revisit this subject. I understand that frames are not possible but as a compromise would it be possible to have the SMPTE clock or an indicator change color with the presence of SMPTE? Green text or flashing dot SMPTE running Red text or flashing dot SMPTE stop. The state of the text could also be used in macros to report midi present or not.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Midi/SMPTE Frames

Post by RobertBell » Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:12 pm

:added: BZ145 & 146
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Midi/SMPTE Frames

Post by amoyer » Thu Jun 24, 2010 7:56 pm

With about a week left in our dance recital season we have made use of SMPTE on a couple of extra shows this year. Aside from a few times where the first cue didn't fire at the beginning of the number (need to investigate this during the next few months when I have more time) it has been a huge help. There has been some times though that where I wanted to be able to see the SMPTE running on the status display but also have the playbacks displayed. Maybe the "flashing" SMPTE running light could be along the top of the screen so that it didn't matter which status screen I was in. I like the green flashing dot for SMPTE running versus red solid dot for SMPTE stopped.
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Midi/SMPTE Frames

Post by gooze » Fri Jun 25, 2010 5:54 am

Can't you (Horizon) just generate a smpte stream and check every second if it is still correct. This stream could be displayed in a nice large bubble somewhere on the screen or in a separate .exe. This way you can have a full display of everything. It then takes a maximum of 1 second to display the correct frame accurate code if the stream has stopped.
S0942_TRP_SmpteResizeCorner.png
SMPTE display in Logic
S0942_TRP_SmpteResizeCorner.png (4.2 KiB) Viewed 2289 times
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

MattKlasmeier
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: Midi/SMPTE Frames

Post by MattKlasmeier » Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:31 am

@ Amoyer

Make sure you have at least 15 frames before you expect the 1st cue to execute . We found that it takes the Palette about 12 frames to lock on the SMPTE signal.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Midi/SMPTE Frames

Post by BrianEvans » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:00 am

The display needs to be updated to read 2 decimal places on ALL values.
SMPTE.
Pan and Tilt.
Strobe.
Etc.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Midi/SMPTE Frames

Post by amoyer » Fri Jun 25, 2010 5:33 pm

MattKlasmeier wrote:Make sure you have at least 15 frames before you expect the 1st cue to execute . We found that it takes the Palette about 12 frames to lock on the SMPTE signal.
I have always done that but for some reason some seem to escape.
gooze wrote:Can't you (Horizon) just generate a smpte stream and check every second if it is still correct. This stream could be displayed in a nice large bubble somewhere on the screen or in a separate .exe.
I was thinking it would be nice if there was a Open Source app that showed the SMPTE clock then I can put it on the desktop computer beside the console and watch the timecode fly by there.
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

Post Reply