Import Soft Patch

User submitted ideas for how we can make the Palette and Light Palette Consoles better
Post Reply
jgross
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:34 am
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Northern California
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Import Soft Patch

Post by jgross » Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:17 pm

Working with my offline editor, I'm trying to import a USITT soft patch, but no luck. I've exported a patch file from Lightwright. Palette recognizes that there is patch information in the file, and I've checked the "Patch" check box in the import dialogue, but nothing happens after that. I've tried doing this with files with .alq and .txt extensions, with the default patch already loaded, with everything unpatched, with the number of channels pre-configured to match the number of incoming channels, and importing as a copy and not as a copy. I've even tried exporting my patch from Palette and then importing back into a new show file. The result is always the same. Nothing. There's nothing about importing in the manual. Any thoughts?

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Import Soft Patch

Post by amoyer » Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:48 pm

Out of curiousity, what version are you running? 10.3.1?
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Import Soft Patch

Post by RobertBell » Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:37 pm

I would bet 3.1 was rough. I've just done it in a beta (later than 3.1). Tell us which version you're using. There may be hope.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

jgross
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:34 am
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Northern California
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: Import Soft Patch

Post by jgross » Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:20 am

Yes, sorry. 10.3.1, I'm not on the beta lists. I'll take a look again when the next release comes out. It was only an experiment.

Post Reply