Times range

User submitted ideas for how we can make the Palette and Light Palette Consoles better
User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Times range

Post by gooze » Fri Feb 08, 2008 8:05 am

Could we add the following syntax in the times display:
[1][TRU][1][0][@][0][/][0][-][[1][0][/][0]
to quickly make things go on one second after eachother
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Times range

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Fri Feb 08, 2008 8:13 am

It is already there. Here is the syntax:

(remember: all times with x/x are delay/fade, and to get the word "to", type the minus "-" key on the console)
...Go to the times window...
1 thru 10 @ 0 to 10 / 0

This will snap each light ON, one at a time, over ten seconds.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Times range

Post by gooze » Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:57 pm

This does only work when you have a zero as fade time. And it does only work when you have the same fade times.
You cannot make the delay longer and at the same time make the fades longer.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Times range

Post by BrianEvans » Fri Feb 08, 2008 4:20 pm

You can use any time range you wish,from High to low, etc.
You can also do ranging on either side of the /.

IE:
1 Thru 12 @ 0 To 10 / 20 to 0.5
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Times range

Post by gooze » Fri Feb 08, 2008 4:22 pm

I was replying while not at the console. Just tested it. After I have typed "[1][tru] [1][0] [@] [1][/][1][0] [-] [1]", I cannot type the slash anymore. Maybe it is one of those direct two digits issues?

It doesn't matter what fade time. Also the 0 seconds did not work...
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Times range

Post by BrianEvans » Fri Feb 08, 2008 4:31 pm

The syntax is always
Fixtures @ wait range / fade time range.

You are correct, once you enter the /, you are stuck in the fade time range.
has to be one chunk as described below:

1 Thru 12 @ 1 To 10 / 10 To 0.1 Enter
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Times range

Post by gooze » Fri Feb 08, 2008 4:33 pm

Ah... Could be a big hint of the day. That again is something one wouldn't type without reading the user manual. Really struggled with it. Can we change this? I think what tried is more intuitive. Maybe both syntaxes can stay?
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Times range

Post by BrianEvans » Fri Feb 08, 2008 4:41 pm

Yeah, I think what happened is you mixed up the meaning of the / and "To".

I can't stand on either side of the fence with your argument,
unfortunately the / means what it means throughout the software.

Syntax Wait / Fade has its fingers in all fade times.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Times range

Post by gooze » Sat Feb 09, 2008 6:33 am

My logic was as follows: To tell the console your wait time and fade time you type wait/(slash not tru)fade. To tell the console a range time you type ch/(tru)ch @ time - (to) time.
So to tell the console a range with both wait and fade time you would have to type: ch/ch@wait/fade -(to) wait/fade.
My question is would it be possible to have both syntaxes at the same time? I think it can (and then it should because there must be other people like me :P )
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
mat
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

Re: Times range

Post by mat » Sun Feb 10, 2008 3:33 pm

Using double digit,
If I want to do: 1/10 @ 10 to full, the command line stops at this moment: 1/10 @ 10 which I understand easily.
Do I have to go to hardware setup each time I want to do this kind of thing?
Does a trick exists when you work in double digit entry?
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

Post Reply