tracking backup

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
User avatar
mat
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

tracking backup

Post by mat » Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:23 am

Is there special proceedings for tracking backup between two light palette (under vista)?
I experience weird things:
sometimes it works fine and sometimes I have to try 7 or more times to succeed.
I tried every thing, restart consoles, restart software...
I still don't understand the way it behaves.

Furthermore, when I have the window they says "connection lost going to live? with the countdown,if I click on OFF I have a blackout for 1second.

ideas?
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2282
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: tracking backup

Post by BobbyHarrell » Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:09 am

A couple of questions...

Are both consoles on the same version of software? Assuming they are, can you try using a laptop as the tracking backup and see if you can find a pattern here?
I've seen tracking backups behave strangely depending on the network setup. You may want to check your network settings. Also try this without anything else connected to the network. Another thought is to try this without a switch but just use a crossover cable between the two consoles. This will tell you if it's the consoles or now.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

User avatar
mat
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

Re: tracking backup

Post by mat » Thu Oct 31, 2013 11:01 am

the two consoles haven't the same control panel:
one is 6.0.7.1
the other is 6.0.6.2

could it be a problem?
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2282
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: tracking backup

Post by BobbyHarrell » Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:25 pm

Got this from the software team...

I am told that as long as both systems are running the same engine, the problem points to the network.
Tracking backup is very high bandwidth Multi-Cast.
Their network switches must be able to handle this high amount of traffic.

If they are using network DMX protocols, it could further amplify the issue.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

lebh
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 2:11 am
Location: Beijing China

Re: tracking backup

Post by lebh » Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:49 pm

Can improve the following two questions:
1.Merge Remote mode and backup mode for the full tracking backup mode
2.Solve Palette series in backup mode Fader sync issues.

Post Reply