Starting other apps

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
dwtech
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:59 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Fremont, MI USA
Location: Fremont, MI USA
Contact:

Starting other apps

Post by dwtech » Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:01 am

I have been playing with century array, and I really like it. What I am wondering is what would be the best way to launch it? I can browse to it and run the file without an issue, but I don't really want some of my techs doing the same thing. Can it be added to the desktop, or the Palette launcher program thing? (that shows apps, system settings, etc) My board is running Vista. Is it possible to make it startup automatically?

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2280
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Starting other apps

Post by BobbyHarrell » Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:59 am

Not that I am aware. I keep thinking about a Auto Run cue list where there is a cue that would trigger a macro. Just not sure if a macro could launch an exe file.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

dwtech
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:59 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Fremont, MI USA
Location: Fremont, MI USA
Contact:

Re: Starting other apps

Post by dwtech » Wed Jun 13, 2012 12:28 pm

Thanks. I found some different ways in the forums, but a lot of what I found there is for older OS's. Some of the windows tricks I know from my other life as a computer support person don't work either.

User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Starting other apps

Post by MickCrozier » Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:57 am

Code: Select all

os.execute("D:\\PathToOpenPaletteApps\\centuryarray.exe")
Never tried it - but should work.
Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

User avatar
bnortin
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:03 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Houston, TX
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: Starting other apps

Post by bnortin » Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:35 am

I've tried that in an attempt to get it to run a VBScript file for triggering QLab (viewtopic.php?f=34&t=2968&sid=acddc0ecd ... 611e6b6af8)with no luck, I just assumed the os.execute command was limited to executing commands in the OS directory.
Bryan Nortin
Electrician - Miller Outdoor Theatre - Houston, TX
ETCP Certified Entertainment Electrician #1619
Light Palette VL 10.8.8
Light Palette Live 10.8.8

dwtech
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:59 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Fremont, MI USA
Location: Fremont, MI USA
Contact:

Re: Starting other apps

Post by dwtech » Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:39 am

It would be nice if there was some way we could add an app to the applications section of the .. umm.. not sure what it is called when you close palette and you have that menu thing with Apps, settings, etc on the screen.

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2280
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Starting other apps

Post by BobbyHarrell » Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:25 pm

That's the Control Panel. Good idea.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Starting other apps

Post by MickCrozier » Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:29 am

I've tried that in an attempt to get it to run a VBScript file for triggering QLab (viewtopic.php?f=34&t=2968)with no luck, I just assumed the os.execute command was limited to executing commands in the OS directory.
Interesting... I'm sure I used os.execute to make directories in web folder when I did a rehash of the showreporter a few years ago.
I'll look into it...
Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

Post Reply