Esp Vision 3 and palette vl 16

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
ctdorsey
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:16 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Houston Texas
Location: Houston, Texas

Esp Vision 3 and palette vl 16

Post by ctdorsey » Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:29 am

Hello,
My question is, I have esp vision 3, can I import a show into my palette vl 16? We frequently have concerts come through the venue I work at and we design lights for them occasionly. I see online people using it with hogs so I just wanted to know if I could with my strand.




Thank You,
Cameron Dorsey
Lighting Designer
Calvary Chapel Houston

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2281
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Esp Vision 3 and palette vl 16

Post by BobbyHarrell » Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:27 pm

From my knowledge, ESP Vision is a visualization software that connects to a console over DMX or ethernet. (Not sure about which protocols on that one.) That should make it compatible I think.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Esp Vision 3 and palette vl 16

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:39 pm

It has been a while, but in terms of the interface:
- OLE Pallete will happily talk to ESP with both running on the same machine if you want (sety the Palette OLE to use an Artnet output)
- For a console, activate the artnet output, and put the computer on the same network
- you cannot (AFAIK) export a patch from ESP and Import it in Palette

Regards
John Grimshaw
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

Post Reply