Live display options/modes

User submitted ideas for how we can make the Palette and Light Palette Consoles better
User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Live display options/modes

Post by TaineGilliam » Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:19 pm

Currently for the live display we have the levels and the times mode. I'd like to propose at least two new modes:

1) Selection order - since selection order matter so much for effects and fan tools this could be very handy. Especially useful with a means to adjust the order.

2) Source - where is the control for this channel coming from - programmer, playback / cue list, submaster, channel fader, GM... The similar screen found on "other" consoles" can be very helpful in sorting out a complex show.

Taine

MattKlasmeier
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: Live display options/modes

Post by MattKlasmeier » Thu Jun 24, 2010 4:00 pm

Bump...

I really would like to see #2 implemented. After working with a show that has over 20 cue list it would be nice to have a way to find out who was turning a light on. I miss the old control view on the 500.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Live display options/modes

Post by RobertBell » Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:20 am

We spoke of another too. If a light is in DSC, would it be handy to know the Pan/Tilt degrees? How about like with FX, we put the output value in ()'s? Would you ever turn that off?
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Live display options/modes

Post by gooze » Fri Jun 25, 2010 5:58 am

That used to be [Shift][LIVE] or [Shift][Display] on the 500 I think. Yes, that is very useful. When in this mode you also can make copy behave a little different. If you cope the position of a fixture it would then not copy it to the same palette, but the same hard values as the source light? Does that make sense?
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

MattKlasmeier
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: Live display options/modes

Post by MattKlasmeier » Fri Jun 25, 2010 3:23 pm

@ Robert

What is DSC?

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: Live display options/modes

Post by TaineGilliam » Fri Jun 25, 2010 4:20 pm

Yes, the difference between TRACKER and TRACKER PRESET.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Live display options/modes

Post by gooze » Fri Jun 25, 2010 5:21 pm

@Matt (the label) Downstage centre

I suppose.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

MattKlasmeier
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: Live display options/modes

Post by MattKlasmeier » Fri Jun 25, 2010 5:39 pm

To Quote Homer Simpson "Doh!" I was thinking DSC was a mode.

jltsale
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:07 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Architectural
Where I Am: Denver, Colorado
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Live display options/modes

Post by jltsale » Fri Jul 23, 2010 10:25 pm

I have to jobs with 70 to 125 cuesheets. I would very much like to know which cuesheet(s) are running the channel. Is it possible to have cuesheets that only show the channels that are used in the cuesheet? Could you make a global knowckout for a channel to get it out of a cuesheet? How about a channel info screen that shows which cuesheets it is in, how many times it is used etc.
Another subject. There is a macro command that will release all cuesheets. Could you make a similiar command that would release all cuesheets except specific ones chosen? I tend to use a "main" cuesheet that is the traffic cop for all external and internal controls. I dont want to close that one but I want to close the rest including new ones that I make on the fly.

User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Live display options/modes

Post by MickCrozier » Sat Jul 24, 2010 7:42 am

Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

Post Reply