*Shift* RelPB

User submitted ideas for how we can make the Palette and Light Palette Consoles better
Post Reply
Straker
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:27 am
Primary Venue / Use: Touring
Where I Am: A UK Northern Opera Company

*Shift* RelPB

Post by Straker » Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:15 am

We are currently running a palette VL and have come across a potential issue (hasn't happened yet but really a matter of time).

With the current hardware layout the cut back (up arrow) and GoTo buttons are located either side of the Release Playback button. When an operator is running a show and wants to go to a cue in time (ie to skip several cues without crashing through them) they are dangerously close to each other.

The traditional bottle top solution doesn't work due to the button location so...

Would it be possible to have release PB only actionable when shift is pressed as well? We don't want to disable the button entirely in hardware setup but have it safed from an inadvertent press.

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Post by TaineGilliam » Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:35 am

I believe Shift-RelPB is already taken by "Release all Playbacks".

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Post by RobertBell » Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:57 am

Increase your REL PB time to something long. The deal is, though, that if the operator notices it, the audience will too. At least it won't go black in a hurry.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:38 pm

Rel PB Time - not an ideal solution.
[Shift] + [Rel PB] - not available

I would like to see another solution that actually gives you a logical command line syntax to release a cue list...
- Double Tap ANY of the [Rel PB] keys, to release the currently selected cuelist in the display
- Single Tap puts "Release Playback (CueList 1 - Main Cue List)" in the command line - enter to execute. Typing a number selects a diffect cue list to release. Typing "Next/Prev" toggles through the list of active Cue Lists.

...The bracketed selected cuelist is first auto selected by:
LP - the first "other" cuelist after the currently selected cuelist (because a double tap releases the selected one)
CP - forced to place in the brackets THAT cue list from where the key press happened, OR the next active cuelist if the one normally on that playback is already released.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

Straker
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:27 am
Primary Venue / Use: Touring
Where I Am: A UK Northern Opera Company

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Post by Straker » Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:35 am

Putting on a long release playback time doesn't really solve the issue it makes the button fairly useless if you do actually want to release it.
JohnGrimshaw wrote: I would like to see another solution that actually gives you a logical command line syntax to release a cue list...
- Double Tap ANY of the [Rel PB] keys, to release the currently selected cuelist in the display
- Single Tap puts "Release Playback (CueList 1 - Main Cue List)" in the command line - enter to execute. Typing a number selects a diffect cue list to release. Typing "Next/Prev" toggles through the list of active Cue Lists.
I would like to second this. (Its a much better idea than my initial one)

Makes the single button press much less of an issue and makes much more sense to boot.

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Post by TaineGilliam » Tue Sep 22, 2009 1:06 pm

Once again John has come up with a nice clean solution - the idea of extending his syntax to include [Time](S-key or hard key) would be even better.

Maybe the M-keys could populate with the available Cue List with "M1-All Cue List"

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Post by RobertBell » Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:14 pm

Nice stuff everybody!
:added: FS#1726 - make Release PB (Rel-PB) go to command line
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Tue Sep 22, 2009 8:15 pm

...maybe I should get a job with Philips. But then again, who would sell the consoles in Australia.

This thread is classic example of users identifying a problem, and the mothership moving to fix it. This is what makes a console easy to sell - thanks Robert.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

Post Reply