Non-dim

User submitted ideas for how we can make the Palette and Light Palette Consoles better
Post Reply
User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Non-dim

Post by gooze » Sun Aug 23, 2009 3:10 am

Would it be possible to either create a "Non-dim" fixture (to make the people coming from certain other desks feel more at home)
or make it possible to make a fixture non-dim rather then an output.
It would save a lot of trouble.

Example:
On a touring show you have certain fixtures on your desk for Moving Lights power, certain channels for HQI's/HMI's, certain channels for workers.
It can be quite tedious to repatch those, because you basically have to do it twice. Once to patch the fixtures to the outputs, and then again to search in your patch for all the outputs that need to be non-dim and make them so.

You have to be sure though that the non-dim is effective on the output rather then the fixture, to prevent some functions of the console to happen that go beyond the fixture. (E.g. Flash on output should never happen on non-dim channels.)
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Non-dim

Post by gooze » Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:27 pm

This question came up again today? Any thoughts yet?
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Non-dim

Post by BrianEvans » Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:56 am

There was talk about a software fix, but it doesn't look like that will be anytime soon.

In the meantime I will be posting a library later today that has a
Generic Non-Dim Full at 1%
as well as
Generic Hot Patch Standard
http://www.horizoncontrol.com/strandlibrary/
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
Kuni
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 5:27 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Non-dim

Post by Kuni » Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:45 am

@Brian,
THANX!
............kuni................................
pimpedPalette VL16, Soft V10.8.5

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Non-dim

Post by gooze » Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:42 pm

Very nice!
One small issue. If you select the non-dim fixture, you still have the possibility to set it for 0-100% I could imagine intensity can be a stepped attribute. In this case with only two steps: off and full. Just like a colour wheel with only whole colours.
Don't get me wrong, it does what it has to do: make a fixture non-dim at fixture level instead of output (patch) level, but it could be clearer!
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

Post Reply