Hardware Setup saves with show

Helpful hints for how to accomplish common and not so common things
Post Reply
User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Hardware Setup saves with show

Post by gooze » Tue Aug 18, 2009 3:34 am

Any changes made to your Hardware Setup will be saved with your showfile. This is (to my knowledge) not mentioned in the release notes.
This can be very valuable when making a default setup showfile. Now all preferences are taken into account.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Hardware Setup saves with show

Post by RobertBell » Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:47 am

FYI - all HARDWARE SETUP|CONSOLE options are saved on the desk (and specifically NOT in the show file). This is the only exception to what you said.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

MattKlasmeier
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: Hardware Setup saves with show

Post by MattKlasmeier » Tue Aug 25, 2009 5:19 pm

I wish there was an option to load "hardware setup" from a show file. I understand why it would not load by default but it would be useful for restoring a console to a desired configuration. I have several community used spaces that this would cut down on confusion when the console does not respond as expected.

User avatar
Kuni
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 5:27 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Hardware Setup saves with show

Post by Kuni » Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:14 am

@Matt
I´m agree with you. I have the same prob sometimes and this will solve this prob.
............kuni................................
pimpedPalette VL16, Soft V10.8.5

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Hardware Setup saves with show

Post by gooze » Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:37 pm

Maybe if you could save your own console personality that would solve the problem.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

DebraCecil
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 6:25 pm

Re: Hardware Setup saves with show

Post by DebraCecil » Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:10 pm

Which all goes back to the idea of access levels and user rights. If people could log in as a user, their setup should open with it. :D

User avatar
Brennan
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:38 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Foothills 130 KM East of the Canadian Rockies.
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Hardware Setup saves with show

Post by Brennan » Thu Aug 27, 2009 4:36 pm

I agree with the "Hardware Setup" save file. Also, is there a way to print out your Hardware and/or Show setup files? It would be nice to have a hard print out for Alternates.
Brennan Berry
Palette Live
v10.8.5 May 17, 2012
v10.8.2 December 10, 2010
v10.6.4 February 24, 2010
v10.6.3 January 11, 2010

House Lighting Technician
Southern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
brennan.berry@gov.ab.ca

Post Reply