Touch Monitor KVM

For comments regarding the NEO hardware.
Post Reply
richdesign
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 4:09 pm

Touch Monitor KVM

Post by richdesign » Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:03 pm

We are in the process of ordering a NEO and I have a couple questions:

With our current system, I've used a KVM extender to give me a keyboard/mouse remote on stage and at another location. This has worked great and I'd like to keep it as is. (I understand there are different and higher tech ways to accomplish this, but it's all setup and works very well for what we do with it.)

So I don't need these locations to necessarily be touch screen monitors, but I'm just curious anyone can think of any problems/conflicts it might cause having the monitor at the console a touch screen and the others not?

2nd question - Does the touch thing work alright with VGA? That is how we are setup now and it would be nice not to have to order new boxes for the extension.

3rd question: does the multi touch cause any instability in the system? I only ask because with our current system it did seem to make the console unstable so I did away with the touch monitor. But that was several years ago and I'm hoping things are better now.

thanks for your help.

Rich

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2281
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Touch Monitor KVM

Post by BobbyHarrell » Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:23 pm

The video output of a NEO is a HD output and you'll want it to be 1920 x 1080. Anything less and the lower resolution forces buttons to disappear from the touchscreen interface. We have several systems using KVM switches and folding monitor/keyboard trays that work fine but they are newer monitors with HD resolution. Does this answer your question or am I misinterpreting?
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

richdesign
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 4:09 pm

Re: Touch Monitor KVM

Post by richdesign » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:57 am

I think so. I was planning on switching out the KVM monitors because I know they now need to be widescreen. I just checked the specs on the KVM extenders and it looks like they can do 1920 so I think it may all work out.

Thanks for your help.

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2281
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Touch Monitor KVM

Post by BobbyHarrell » Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:26 pm

You're welcome.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

Post Reply