ImageCue Media Server Snap

Welcome to the public forum for the NEO. The next generation of Philips Strand Lighting's theatrical lighting control console.
Post Reply
rrcamike
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Michigan, USA

ImageCue Media Server Snap

Post by rrcamike » Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:55 pm

Hello,

I've started using ImageCue for my media server, and it works very well, with one exception. When I go from a graphic, still or animation, instead of going from one picture immediately to the next, it cycles through the ones numerically in between. (Instead of going from #001 to #005, it goes #001, #002, #003, #004, #005.) ImageCue requires the image names start with a 3=digit number. I use the fixture in the NEO library.

I've contacted ImageCue, and their response is that some parameters should "Snap" instead of "Fade," and to ask you if this can be accomplished.

The parameters that need to Snap are:
Folder
File
Time (16 bit)
Control Mode
Overlay File Select

The Fadable ones are:
Dimmer
Color R,G,B
Color Alpha
Overlay Alpha

Does this make sense?

The person at ImageCue, Bill Hewlett, said he would be happy to speak with you.

Thank you for your help,
Mike

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2550
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: ImageCue Media Server Snap

Post by BobbyHarrell » Mon Apr 08, 2019 2:00 pm

This sounds like a good place for complex timing. You can go into the Cue List display, select the cue and identify the details window at the bottom. There will be a tab for Timing where you can enter time for each parameter per fixture per cue.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

rrcamike
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Michigan, USA

Re: ImageCue Media Server Snap

Post by rrcamike » Mon Apr 08, 2019 4:31 pm

I have done that, but it didn't seem to help. It seems to increase/decrease the dmx value for the selected slide in a linear manner, not a snap, even if the timing is at 0.


I tried complex timing for a 10 second cue fade with the graphic fade from ImageCue set for 3 seconds. it went to black, then at the 10 second point it faded in the graphic over 3 seconds.

Hewlett thought the graphics were each fading in (probably at 0) until the overall effect was black, then it faded into the new graphic.

I will try again tomorrow with more attention to detail.

Thank you!
Mike

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2550
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: ImageCue Media Server Snap

Post by BobbyHarrell » Mon Apr 08, 2019 5:36 pm

You might want to try setting up a Palette Type specifically for the desired parameters and then just giving it Attribute Family Timing.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

rrcamike
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Michigan, USA

Re: ImageCue Media Server Snap

Post by rrcamike » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:33 am

I did this, and everything is working as expected. Therefore, I also went back and tried the individual timing settings for each attribute, not just selected ones, and now I have it working that way also.

Thank you for steering me in the right direction,
Mike

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2550
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: ImageCue Media Server Snap

Post by BobbyHarrell » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:48 am

Great and happy to help.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

Post Reply