Page 2 of 2

Re: Indexed and continuous ranges for single wheel property?

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 1:09 pm
by BobbyHarrell
Why don't you send us the showfile and maybe we can look at what you are seeing as I'm not sure I understand the difference between what you getting from the GUI vs from the encoders.

Re: Indexed and continuous ranges for single wheel property?

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 1:35 pm
by dhearst
With the GUI, you can see the areas of the range that are indexed and those that are continuous. You can carefully enter a DMX value in the area that you want without paging through unwanted DMX values.

With the wheel, you have a range of indexed values and then one or more areas that expect continuous values. If you navigate the indexed range with shift (for continuous, then you have to step through a number of unwanted values to get to the continuous range). However, if you use indexed control on the wheel for the continuous range, then you jump to the midpoint which may be nowhere close to the DMX value that you want in the continuous range. Many of the Rogue's attributes combine indexed sections with multiple continuous sections, governing characteristics that are not directly related (e.g. 1 - fixed color and color wheel scroll speed, 2 - fixed gobo, gobo shake, gobo scroll CW and gobo scroll CCW) so a slight over-adjustment of the value can land you in entirely unwanted territory (try to get from Gobo 7 to Open and you land in Gobo Shake). Since almost everything we do is on-the-fly, we're always looking for the most reliable and predictable workflows that can be followed during a live performance. Lots of flexibility and random access but with very predictable results...

At some point I can put together an example of why this doesn't work well for us, and why I originally expressed interest in more elegant support for mixed range attributes on the wheels. Not quite sure when time will allow me to put together that info and send it over.

Re: Indexed and continuous ranges for single wheel property?

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 8:21 pm
by BobbyHarrell
Now that you have explained it, I get it. It's unfortunate that they have crammed all that onto the same DMX channel. Not very user friendly.

A couple of things that I could think of. 1. Using the push function to put in the desired DMX value. 2. Setting up a page of Shortcuts with macros for that or setting up generic palettes for all that. Not sure how you feel about that.