Labelling Fixture Softkeys

Post Reply
reesb
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:00 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Bathurst, NSW, Australia

Labelling Fixture Softkeys

Post by reesb » Wed Aug 27, 2014 11:42 pm

I'm running 15 PL1s, 2 movers,3 PL3s and 10 multiPars on the ML250. All of these are on separate addresses. My problem is the desk doesn't allow labelling of the fixture softkeys creating confusion and delay. I would dearly love the ML250 to have this option.

Since it appears that it won't happen anytime soon or at all, I'm considering changing the labels via the fixture creator software. Basically copying the fixture profile several times and re-labelling each one (FOH1,FOH2, CENTRE SPECIAL, US SPECIAL, BACKLIGHT1, PS MOVER, etc, etc.

My question. Is there an easier way? If not what are the pitfalls? What is the file saving limitations? Can I put them all into one folder that the console will recognise?

Cheers

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2278
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Labelling Fixture Softkeys

Post by BobbyHarrell » Tue Sep 02, 2014 8:51 am

I will ask about this feature. There is a very limited amount of memory available but will check.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

reesb
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:00 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Bathurst, NSW, Australia

Re: Labelling Fixture Softkeys

Post by reesb » Tue Sep 02, 2014 8:45 pm

Thanks Bobby.

You may have missed the second part of my post, regarding the possibility of placing specific labels on the fixture softkeys by renaming the .tff files on the fixture creator. What file saving limitations should I keep in mind to make this work?

Cheers

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2278
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Labelling Fixture Softkeys

Post by BobbyHarrell » Wed Sep 03, 2014 7:56 am

Actually I didn't miss it. I just didn't comment on it as I think it's a plausible idea and can't see of any problem with it. Just know that i you need to adjust the fixture library you'll have to adjust multiple fixtures now.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

reesb
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:00 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Bathurst, NSW, Australia

Re: Labelling Fixture Softkeys

Post by reesb » Wed Sep 03, 2014 8:48 pm

Thanks Bobby

For anyone who wants to try or has tried this:-- Here are some minor issues to date.

So far I've duplicated 100 odd .tff files all with different labels (I've tried to cover all possible uses here). All fixtures that have the same profile I have put into a folder labelled as that fixture. Saved to the thumb drive in the "FIX" folder and now I can see them on the patch screen on the console.

As yet I haven't patched them to the fixture softkeys because the console is in use all day everyday for another week. I'll let you know how it goes.

Whilst duplicating and renaming these files I did come across some hurdles. Initially I created a folder called "MY LABELS" and then several sub folders labelled "PL1", "PL3", "MAC", "MPAR" etc, etc. Each sub folder had the renamed .tff files for that fixture type. All that showed up on the console was "MY LABELS" and no .tff files. No problem, got rid of the sub folders and ended up with several fixture folders labelled "MY PL1s", "MY PL3s", "MY MACs", "MY MPARs" etc. Now I can see my .tff files on the patch screen.

When renaming the files I started out by opening the relevant .tff file changing the fixture name in the relevant dialogue box in the FLC software. Here I noticed that there must be some naming limitations. Testing this I discovered some fixtures would only accept 8 characters and some a few more. Not sure why?

Clicking on "Save Fixture" in the FILE drop down box took me to a windows "save as" screen as it should, but the name change did not transfer to the "save as" screen. No big deal but something to look out for.

Interesting that my new folders ended up at the very end of the fixture library. I would have expected them to be alphabetical (reverse alphabetical?).Now I just have to scroll the encoder all the long long way to the very very very end. Pity I can't change my folders to "AAA MY PL1s" so they appear as the first entry in the library. Or is there a way?

Has anyone else tried this?

More to come....

Post Reply