Upgrading from a GSX Console

Post Reply
martin144
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 4:47 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Starnberg, Germany, Bavaria

Upgrading from a GSX Console

Post by martin144 » Fri Mar 21, 2014 5:18 pm

Hi,

Due to a hardware failure and some time constraints I had to quickly upgrade from a GSX to the 250ML.
Though the general usage is quite similar to the GSX, I am missing some features which I really liked on the GSX.

In my very special case at the moment I am only using conventional Dimmers / Lights and no MH's etc.
This means I don't have bothered with the Fixture functions at all.

- Why is there no '*' key to modify all active channels? Is there some other way?
- I am missing the 'back' button to go to the last cue. Is there some other way?
- I very liked the ability to set channel intensity with the 'Golf Ball". Why can't you just map one of the 4 encoders to have a similar Function. Not all of them are used for other functions in my case. Pressing SHIFT+ENTER is no option.
- The most bothering thing: you can have cues called '10.1' but if you want to copy or move them, it's not possible to enter a number after the decimal delimiter.

I hope the software can improve a little bit to cover this imperfectments.

Regards,
Martin

martin144
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 4:47 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Starnberg, Germany, Bavaria

Re: Upgrading from a GSX Console

Post by martin144 » Fri Mar 21, 2014 5:42 pm

Hi,

and one more Question, towards our next project involving Movinglights:

If I try to create a fixture with the software provided by Strand, I am not able to load it again. The provided samples work ok, but my saved files won't load anymore on Windows 8.1.
Is this a Windows problem or could there be some other reasons? I'm trying to program a Showtec Phantom 75 LED MH.

Regards,
Martin

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2281
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from a GSX Console

Post by BobbyHarrell » Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:47 am

I will discuss with the software engineer. But a few comments...

Shift + Enter is the option for modifying intensity on the first encoder.
For going to the previous cue you can GOTO CUE #.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

martin144
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 4:47 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Starnberg, Germany, Bavaria

Re: Upgrading from a GSX Console

Post by martin144 » Sun Mar 23, 2014 3:02 pm

Hi,

thanks for the comment,

Shift + Enter is described in the manual, but I would prefer a more direct possibility to modify intensities.
And I am still trying to find a 'GOTO' and a '#' key on my desk.

Martin

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2281
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from a GSX Console

Post by BobbyHarrell » Sun Mar 23, 2014 6:01 pm

I would have preferred to give you a more direct access path to modify intensities but I was told that was not possible so this was the next best thing. I wish it were better.

I'm sorry to try and direct you to a key that is not there. I've got other consoles on my brain this week. It's CUE # GO or CUE # LOAD GO on the 250ML.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

Limeburner
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:09 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: New Zealand Lighting Designer/Specifier

Re: Upgrading from a GSX Console

Post by Limeburner » Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:29 pm

BobbyHarrell wrote:I would have preferred to give you a more direct access path to modify intensities but I was told that was not possible so this was the next best thing. I wish it were better.

I'm sorry to try and direct you to a key that is not there. I've got other consoles on my brain this week. It's CUE # GO or CUE # LOAD GO on the 250ML.
Can I clarify that if I went: CUE 12 GO and cue 12 had not been recorded as a State Cue then I may not see onstage the full lighting state I expected if I had got there by running the show in order thru to cue 12?

martin144
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 4:47 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Starnberg, Germany, Bavaria

Re: Upgrading from a GSX Console

Post by martin144 » Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:39 pm

Hi Bobby,

I haven't looked into the possibilities of State Cues, and so far didn't find a possibility how to turn a cue into a state cue. But as long as I am going for theatre lighting, this shouldn't be a big problem.
CUE xx GO of course does what it should. Even if there was no other Cue loaded before.

But another question: On the GSX I had the possibility to record movefades. And to enter values to not be changed by entering "." as intensity or "0" to set to zero. This seems no longer to be possible.
Maybe I just have to adjust my way of thinking how the whole thing works. I am getting closer. 20 Years of GSX is hard to overcome...

Regards,
Martin

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2281
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from a GSX Console

Post by BobbyHarrell » Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:01 am

it is a different animal. However, if you press RECORD CUE then you will see a softkey to Record As State Cue. If you don't see it then you should upgrade to the latest software.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

Post Reply