Apple script

Open Source software contributions and discussions that supplement or extend the Palette / Light Palette software
MattKlasmeier
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: Apple script

Post by MattKlasmeier » Tue Nov 16, 2010 8:14 am

I would add a macro/script to a sub that does what you want. This way you can ensure that you have a working script. Then copy that script into your program. Capitalization,spaces and commas are all very important.

rtully
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:14 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Dublin & Barcelona. Touring Theatre

Re: Apple script

Post by rtully » Tue Nov 16, 2010 8:55 am

Thanks Guys.

It was a simple missing Spaces in cue list 'A / B'.

Working great now!


Thanks again

R

User avatar
bnortin
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:03 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Houston, TX
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: Apple script

Post by bnortin » Tue May 22, 2012 11:45 pm

I have an addition I'd like to make to this thread to see if anyone who is familiar with Lua may be able to put to good use. We utilize 2 Light Palettes without MIDI cards and QLab for video & audio cues. I've tried the QLab scripts in this thread for triggering the lighting console and they work great, but I've found that more often than not we need to trigger the other direction, with the console sending a GO command to QLab. After playing around with Applescripts & Telnet, I figured out a way to trigger QLab from the command prompt on the console, but I have no idea how to begin to tie that into a Lua macro. The QLab Go script is attached, and I triggered it by typing this at the command prompt on the console:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>telnet
Microsoft Telnet> o 2.0.0.31
Login:
Password:
bnmac:~ Bryan$ osascript /Users/Bryan/Documents/QLabGo.scpt

Ideally I would like to find a way to create 2 separate macros, one to establish the connection and another to send the QLab Go script. The first one is just for convenience, so if that can't happen it's not a big deal. The script trigger macro would help me A LOT. Is this something that's even possible? Thanks.
Attachments
QLabGo.zip
(1.18 KiB) Downloaded 155 times
Bryan Nortin
Electrician - Miller Outdoor Theatre - Houston, TX
ETCP Certified Entertainment Electrician #1619
Light Palette VL 10.8.8
Light Palette Live 10.8.8

User avatar
bnortin
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:03 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Houston, TX
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: Apple script

Post by bnortin » Thu May 31, 2012 5:13 pm

I've made it a little farther with this: I now have 3 vbscripts for this process, one to connect to the mac, one to trigger QLab, and one to disconnect. All of them work great when I run them manually. Is there a way to trigger these scripts with a macro in the cue list?
Bryan Nortin
Electrician - Miller Outdoor Theatre - Houston, TX
ETCP Certified Entertainment Electrician #1619
Light Palette VL 10.8.8
Light Palette Live 10.8.8

Post Reply