Apple script

Open Source software contributions and discussions that supplement or extend the Palette / Light Palette software
User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Apple script

Post by gooze » Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:44 am

How do I establish a telnet connection (and execute commands like HC.CueListGO) using AppleScript?
Since you can run AppleScript with CueLab (Figure53.com), I'd like to give that option a try.

Doing the same thing over MIDI would have been easier, but...
Sending MIDI over Lan is probably not going to be implemented, and I want to size my setup down, instead of expanding it by buying a larger desk, just because of the hardware midi connection (from a century long ago).
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

GaryDouglas
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: Calgary, Canada

Re: Apple script

Post by GaryDouglas » Fri Oct 15, 2010 11:03 am

This might get you close:

set telnet to "telnet 192.168.1.58"
set go_script to "HC.CueListGo('Main Cue List')"
tell application "Terminal"
run
do script telnet
delay 1
do script go_script in window 1
end tell
Gary Douglas - Lead Software Developer - Pathway Connectivity - A Division of Acuity Brands Lighting Canada.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Apple script

Post by gooze » Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:55 am

This works. I made some adjustments, because it takes 30 seconds before the connection is completely established.
I made this into a sample file for QLab, a great showcontrol application for MaxOSX.
Palette Go scripts.zip
QLab remote control for Palette
(24.7 KiB) Downloaded 239 times
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
Buffy
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 7:02 am
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Midlands Ireland
Location: Dunamaise Theatre Portlaoise
Contact:

Re: Apple script

Post by Buffy » Sat Oct 30, 2010 4:39 pm

That is fantastic, great bit of script.
Let's just use the 23

rtully
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:14 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Dublin & Barcelona. Touring Theatre

Re: Apple script

Post by rtully » Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:20 pm

Hi There,

I just found this thread as I have been set a task to trigger an older Palette (one that doesn't have the ability for the midi card) via qlab (figure53.com) Will this script do this via an ethernet link? if not can anyone tell me can i hack the palette to accept a midi interface via USB?

Many thanks

R

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Apple script

Post by gooze » Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:52 am

This works via a wired or wireless network. The only thing you have to do is change the ip adress in the QLab script to the ip of your console and make sure your console and the external computer are connected (as with the remote video or web app. )
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

rtully
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:14 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Dublin & Barcelona. Touring Theatre

Re: Apple script

Post by rtully » Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:30 am

Thanks for that,

Terminal is showing that the telnet is connected and the commands are being sent however this is having no effect on the desk.
Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Ronan

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Apple script

Post by RobertBell » Tue Nov 16, 2010 1:36 am

try sending
help <cr>
to the desk and see if you get a response
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

rtully
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:14 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Dublin & Barcelona. Touring Theatre

Re: Apple script

Post by rtully » Tue Nov 16, 2010 6:26 am

Hi Robert,
It sent back a list of all the command scripts back to the mac. But still no joy when trying to go cue.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Apple script

Post by gooze » Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:22 am

The name of your cuelist does matter.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

Post Reply