External control

Open Source software contributions and discussions that supplement or extend the Palette / Light Palette software
jltsale
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:07 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Architectural
Where I Am: Denver, Colorado
Location: Denver, Colorado

External control

Post by jltsale » Fri Jul 23, 2010 10:35 pm

I needed a way to receive over 1000 external control signals. With a few trys I found that I could use the same commands that I use when I make a Web based magic sheet with IP commands.
Use {HC.VariableSet('variable page','varible name or order',1)!0D!0A} The !0D!0A is a carriage return/line feed.
Dont make a varibale page with more than 255 variables!

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: External control

Post by TaineGilliam » Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:53 am

Hopefully Robert will respond with details of the Palette interface with Opto22 hardware.

Good note on the limit for number of variables per page.

jltsale
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:07 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Architectural
Where I Am: Denver, Colorado
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: External control

Post by jltsale » Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:59 am

I have used opto22 with great success. I wonder why you brought that up though when we need 1000 control points, is there something new and huge about opto 22? Let me know.

jltsale
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:07 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Architectural
Where I Am: Denver, Colorado
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: External control

Post by jltsale » Tue Jul 27, 2010 11:05 am

If you make more than 255 variables the system will crash immediately. I could not open the program on the system machine after that, I had to open it off-line on my laptop and erase several variables (I probobly over did it) It is understandable though, who would need that many variables? of course, I did.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: External control

Post by BrianEvans » Tue Jul 27, 2010 1:19 pm

At that point, unless these are physical inputs,
and NOT data coming from another control system,
using variables is pointless.

Just have them set a variable, then push a trigger.
The rest is just code on 1 cue, or look, etc.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

jltsale
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:07 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Architectural
Where I Am: Denver, Colorado
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: External control

Post by jltsale » Tue Jul 27, 2010 2:28 pm

Brian:
Confusion over inputs. The opto 22 note obviously refers to physical inputs. I am getting IP inputs from a Medialon show controller. I am using the IP protocol because the inputs dont necessarity come in order (otherwise smpte would be a better way) We do have well over 1000 commands. The IP protocol to trigger variables works very well. It might have been better to have the IP commands trigger cues, then we would not have the 255 limit.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: External control

Post by BrianEvans » Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:44 pm

Still the best option is have Medialon set a variable:
IE:
ExternalCommand=1
carriage return

then immediatly send the command to set a cue to run so that the action in the cue takes place.
That action then just has a long list of
if then
statements, 1 for each value that may be set.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

jltsale
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:07 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Architectural
Where I Am: Denver, Colorado
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: External control

Post by jltsale » Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:05 pm

Brian:
That's what the medialon does via IP control. It sends the same command that a web page magic sheet does followed by a carriage return line feed.
HC.VariableSet('LP',1,1)!0D!0A
IS there an easier way?

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: External control

Post by BrianEvans » Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:36 pm

You are still having to set up multiple variables,
instead of just letting Medialon set a String in memory.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

jltsale
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:07 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Architectural
Where I Am: Denver, Colorado
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: External control

Post by jltsale » Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:06 pm

Brian:
I see what you mean. I will use that next time. I think that trying to keep the if/then statements good and trying to find the right one in a list of 1000 might be too much. Still, a terrific idea for another project. Thanks
Jim

Post Reply