Page 1 of 1

Run application on start-up

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:07 am
by gooze
How can we set-up an application (like Century Array or On-screen keyboard) to automatically run as you start-up the console. In Windows you would copy a shortcut to the start-up folder in Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\. But on the console this folder is hidden. Is there any other way?

Re: Run application on start-up

Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:11 am
by RobertBell
os.execute("notepad") works - you're just left with a cmd box behind.
see: http://www.lua.org/manual/5.1/manual.html#5.8

Re: Run application on start-up

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:26 am
by tom
It is possible to getting files into the Op/start menu/programs/startup folder

You can copy them through the command prompt screen, and as we are logged in as this user we still have privileges to this folder. Of course this is probably not the idea behind the embedded xp story.

Theres also another browser hidden on my console which can be launched from the command prompt.

You could launch all your apps with a batch file too though.

Re: Run application on start-up

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:05 am
by gooze
Thanks! I was nearly there myself. I forgot about the good old dosbox inside windows!

Re: Run application on start-up

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:44 am
by gooze
.... but somehow that doesn't work. I did the same thing on a 'normal' windows machine and that had the desired effect I also tried for All Users.

Re: Run application on start-up

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 8:25 am
by tom
Yep that didn't work.

2nd route,
command prompt - control schedtasks

Plan your task (in my case a .bat launching an app) to start on login of user/Op. Not on start up, that didn't work.

This throws out a few errors intially while creating it but after it works fine.

Re: Run application on start-up

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 8:37 am
by tom
Small extra note - if that wont run after a restart.

Go through the same process and find the planned task. Go to properties and check run only if logged on.

I've verified this on my console.

Re: Run application on start-up

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 9:17 am
by gooze
Sweet! :D

Re: Run application on start-up

Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:20 pm
by RobertBell
:added: FS#1682 - run EXEs in Startup folders
look in d:\Startup and %showfiledir%\Startup and run any exe in there