Run application on start-up

Open Source software contributions and discussions that supplement or extend the Palette / Light Palette software
Post Reply
User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Run application on start-up

Post by gooze » Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:07 am

How can we set-up an application (like Century Array or On-screen keyboard) to automatically run as you start-up the console. In Windows you would copy a shortcut to the start-up folder in Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\. But on the console this folder is hidden. Is there any other way?
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Run application on start-up

Post by RobertBell » Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:11 am

os.execute("notepad") works - you're just left with a cmd box behind.
see: http://www.lua.org/manual/5.1/manual.html#5.8
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

tom
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Run application on start-up

Post by tom » Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:26 am

It is possible to getting files into the Op/start menu/programs/startup folder

You can copy them through the command prompt screen, and as we are logged in as this user we still have privileges to this folder. Of course this is probably not the idea behind the embedded xp story.

Theres also another browser hidden on my console which can be launched from the command prompt.

You could launch all your apps with a batch file too though.
Light palette : classic
Nederlands Dans Theater.

"Come forth and thy shalt win eternal happiness", but he came fifth, so he won an electric toaster.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Run application on start-up

Post by gooze » Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:05 am

Thanks! I was nearly there myself. I forgot about the good old dosbox inside windows!
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Run application on start-up

Post by gooze » Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:44 am

.... but somehow that doesn't work. I did the same thing on a 'normal' windows machine and that had the desired effect I also tried for All Users.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

tom
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Run application on start-up

Post by tom » Wed Aug 19, 2009 8:25 am

Yep that didn't work.

2nd route,
command prompt - control schedtasks

Plan your task (in my case a .bat launching an app) to start on login of user/Op. Not on start up, that didn't work.

This throws out a few errors intially while creating it but after it works fine.
Light palette : classic
Nederlands Dans Theater.

"Come forth and thy shalt win eternal happiness", but he came fifth, so he won an electric toaster.

tom
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Run application on start-up

Post by tom » Wed Aug 19, 2009 8:37 am

Small extra note - if that wont run after a restart.

Go through the same process and find the planned task. Go to properties and check run only if logged on.

I've verified this on my console.
Light palette : classic
Nederlands Dans Theater.

"Come forth and thy shalt win eternal happiness", but he came fifth, so he won an electric toaster.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Run application on start-up

Post by gooze » Wed Aug 19, 2009 9:17 am

Sweet! :D
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Run application on start-up

Post by RobertBell » Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:20 pm

:added: FS#1682 - run EXEs in Startup folders
look in d:\Startup and %showfiledir%\Startup and run any exe in there
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

Post Reply