Century Array V2.0 Posted

Open Source software contributions and discussions that supplement or extend the Palette / Light Palette software
User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Century Array V2.0 Posted

Post by BrianEvans » Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:56 pm

For those who want to add features,
I'm more than happy to provide the source code to you.

The nice thing about this version, is it adds macro pages.

http://www.horizoncontrol.com/web/openp ... nloads.htm
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Century Array V2.0 Posted

Post by amoyer » Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:59 pm

Does this require 10.5 or will it work in 10.4.12 for those of us that aren't playing in Beta land?
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Century Array V2.0 Posted

Post by BrianEvans » Wed Apr 08, 2009 3:03 pm

I doubt it, but you could try and report back.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Century Array V2.0 Posted

Post by RobertBell » Wed Apr 08, 2009 6:59 pm

Macros
  • It seems the square layout of variables does not populate (other layout does)
  • On any page except the first page (called Variables) every cell triggers variable 1
  • It would be nice to have a DOWN and UP version of the button to know if the variable is zero or non-zero
Palettes
  • Any chance of getting the 5x5 title to have the offset number (like in the main code)
  • Can the 5x5 text get the same x/y thing like the real 5x5's
Neat - You need some more stuff from Gary
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Century Array V2.0 Posted

Post by BrianEvans » Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:13 pm

You have either software version, or show file issues Rob.
There is nothing wrong with populating the buttons.

If you want to send me your show, I'll take a look.

The reason all the variables are triggering Variable 1,
is you have not given them a unique name.
Using the order number in HC.VariableSet would be a kludge,
especially when you start comlpex button station patching.

So just give them a unique name like a normal person. :)

Even if the info was available currently from the engine,
I HATE what has become of the display of the 5x5.
It is a MESS. Until that gets cleaned up, not much I can do.
The number of the look, the % of fixtures invloved, should NOT interfere with the title of the look.
We need an OCX that keeps all of the info in their own sandbox. (corners of the button)
Last edited by BrianEvans on Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Century Array V2.0 Posted

Post by amoyer » Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:15 pm

When I connected to an OLE running 10.5.22 everything seemed to populate (palettes and macros) but when I connected to our Light Palette Live running 10.4.12 none of the macros populated.
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Century Array V2.0 Posted

Post by BrianEvans » Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:20 pm

That's what I thought Andrew.
There is a function known as "HC.GetProperty" that wasn't fully implemented in 10.4.12.

Hopefully 10.6 will release soon.

The current beta is far more stable than 10.4.12 ever was.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Century Array V2.0 Posted

Post by amoyer » Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:26 pm

BrianEvans wrote:Hopefully 10.6 will release soon.
March has come and gone not that I was really going to hold anyone to that.
The current beta is far more stable than 10.4.12 ever was.
I don't doubt that but the issue is the fact that it is still a beta and the powers that be don't like a beta label on current operational software. It's just not worth the fight. Although with Dance Recital Season on our doorstep there are quite a few additions in 10.5/6 that are going to make us not want to push the console through the booth window, stability wise especially!
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Century Array V2.0 Posted

Post by BrianEvans » Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:29 pm

FX on subs? Who needs that for a dance recital. :D
Ah, dance recitals.

I get roped into designing one every June as well.

Unfortunately I get stuck with an ETC Express because of the lack of time.
So I ALWAYS appreciate what we have done in Palette, Marquee,
and even Horizon, after that show.
(If time were on my side, I know someone I could get some VARI*LITEs from too.) ;)
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Century Array V2.0 Posted

Post by BrianEvans » Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:15 am

Version 2.0 has been re-posted.

It now remembers screen location, size, etc.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

Post Reply