Color Mixing Fan Tool

Open Source software contributions and discussions that supplement or extend the Palette / Light Palette software
User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Color Mixing Fan Tool

Post by RobertBell » Mon Dec 22, 2008 2:35 pm

Brian,
Gary would have to change HC.GetCurrentSelectionSet() to return in selection order rather than numerical order.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Color Mixing Fan Tool

Post by BrianEvans » Mon Dec 22, 2008 4:22 pm

Yeah I mentioned it to him quite a while ago.
I can't do anything until we get that argument.

One should be ableto choose how the data comes back with an additional argument.

Funny thing is, if you look how the Lua is written, there would be NO change to it once the data comes back in selected order. Had already planned ahead for that day.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: Color Mixing Fan Tool

Post by TaineGilliam » Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:27 am

I think that would be a very cool option in general considering how important selection order is for effects, fans...

<dream>
This might get fun once/if we allow groups to be handled in Blocks - perhaps it would return a channel and a "Block number". The block number would change for each group. To use each channel one could ignore the block number, to use blocks one would treat every channel with the same block number the same.
</dream>

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Color Mixing Fan Tool

Post by RobertBell » Wed Dec 24, 2008 2:43 pm

FS#1244 - HC.CurrentSelectionSet return should be ordered
fixed for next beta
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Color Mixing Fan Tool

Post by BrianEvans » Thu Dec 25, 2008 6:46 am

Rob, what I think would be most useful is an argemunt that selects the return data as ordered or numerical.

HC.CurrentSelectionSet (fixtures[,ordered|numerical)
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Color Mixing Fan Tool

Post by RobertBell » Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:51 am

(from FS)
HC.CurrentSelectionSet should be ordered.
HC.CurrentSelectionSet(',','TRUE") will not be ordered.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Color Mixing Fan Tool

Post by BrianEvans » Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:15 am

sweet
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: Color Mixing Fan Tool

Post by TaineGilliam » Mon Jan 26, 2009 6:53 pm

Did someone change the way AttributeGetValue works. It seems to be returning a string now not a number - "100% C" ?

Taine

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Color Mixing Fan Tool

Post by BrianEvans » Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:40 pm

Actually that is how it should be.
The attribute is actually telling you what color space.
But that pribably means I'll need to update my code eventually.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: Color Mixing Fan Tool

Post by TaineGilliam » Tue Jan 27, 2009 6:56 pm

Thanks for the answer Brian. I did a quick patch, probably not the prettiest code but it seemed to work. I guess the next version of the tool will be colorspace aware?

Thanks,
Taine

Post Reply