Page 1 of 1

PDA usage notes

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:22 am
by JohnGrimshaw
1) Release on the remote is like triple release on the console. Maybe “release” on the remote should be multi-staged like the console. First tap - “release” any PDA set levels, 2nd and 3rd taps act like the same on the console.
2) PDA Connection – after wifi is connected, the PDA takes a VERY long time to handshake with the console and be ready for use.
3) Connection Label – on the bottom left of the display is a little text that tells you what the connection is doing. In the first version of the software, you could read this easily. Subsequent updates put the word “telnet:” in front, and now we cannot read anything until the unit is “Connected”. Can we get rid of the “Telnet” text?
4) You cannot plot on the console while someone is using the PDA to focus. It would be great if a solution could be found (like programmer layers, or PDA control sits under a submaster).
5) I really want to be able to tap on the “grid” to select fixtures. Maybe this should add to a command line on that page, with a single “@” button. When pressed it puts you back in the Fixture view, puts the command line in, and hits the @ key for you.

Re: PDA usage notes

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:09 pm
by sirsparky
I have seen that in your last update of the wireless RFU PDA software you have added the ability to bring up your individual DMX outputs instead of just flashing them, which is of tremendous if you need to check or focus something without having to patch it yet. While this is a great improvement, I can only do this for outputs in my first 2 universes, so to check the addressing and functionality of say my scrollers is impossible from the PDA and I have to go back up to the board to do it. Also would it be posable to go even further with the output controls on the remote and the console and be able to bring up multiple outputs at once in the same manner as you would a channel (i.e. + and) and /(through)). I have often found designers will be thinking in the number of their particular soft-patch while I am thinking about the same plot in terms of dimmer numbers for ease of trouble sooting. Thank you, cheers.

Re: PDA usage notes

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:10 am
by GaryDouglas
Which version of the PDA software do you have? There will be a Version 3 available very soon if you don't already have it.

There should be no 2 Universe limitation to setting outputs - but I will verify. If there is one it was not intentional.

Re: PDA usage notes

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 9:14 am
by BobbyHarrell
Gary, just to clarify, Scott is the user that I had you add the Output button for last week. So he has the latest version. His theatre is still in the commissioning stage and commissioning agents are on site weekly if not daily getting his theatre up and running to the consultants specifications....with a little of Scott's needs thrown in too! ;)

Re: PDA usage notes

Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 2:24 am
by sirsparky
Yeah its been quite a challenge getting this new theatre opening in the last few weeks but I did finally get my first day off in along while last monday. But while I like the PDA as a wireless RFU, but in the check function, any time I type a value greater than 1024, it jumps me to 1. It could just be a bug but I do't know. Cheers.