Patching Issues

Is this a feature? Is this a bug? Give us feedback to make it better!
User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Patching Issues

Post by BrianEvans » Tue Feb 19, 2008 3:22 pm

I agree with Rob, speaking mainly from my experience with the GrandMA.

There is nothing worse than having to step in front of a console to run a show,
and haivng to try to make sense of the previous users layout.

I like the standardization of our current format.

Over customizability = GrandMA = pain in the ass.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1186
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: Patching Issues

Post by TaineGilliam » Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:59 pm

Wow this thread covers a lot of ground. A couple of things come to mind here:

First, one of the first things I missed when switching from the 500 to the Palette was not being able to set my net output by netslot and being forced to use universe numbers. On multi-space / multiconsole systems we often used netslot 1 thru whatever for the first room and netslot 5001 through whatever for the second... There are also cases where you might not want a full universe to be output and it was handy to say "1-200 @ NS 5001".

Secondly, this reminds me of the enormous advantage on the 300/500 series console of being able to assign the outputs separately to each hardware DMX port. The most obvious use here is to get the same universe out of both/all ports. I also allows for Robert's friends in Toronto - Port A 1-500, Port B 501-1000...

I hope Power patch learns to understand universe numbers.

I also think patch should let me patch to whatever universe I want enabled or not. It shouldn't count fixtures patched to outputs not being output against the "channel count" of the console though.

As for backspace - a character is a character is a character. One backspace should be one character. This is one of those places where I'm a bit fixed in my mindset. By this I mean "4+55+66[bs][bs][bs][bs]3[enter]" is "4+53[enter]". I can see very little wiggle room here. And yes, it might complicate the parsing for fixture selection during command line editing.

Regarding customizations, I view the flexiblity of the GrandMA has a HUGE plus for the console. What is missing is :

1) a quick default layout recall button that would load a usable factory chosen layout. This is critical from a support POV.
2) a much better means of storing and recalling layouts. The ability to reuse layouts across shows is vital. There is a great arguement for a programming layout distict from the playback layout.

The GrandMA profile/user setup is horrific. I should be able to load my layout and safely store it out of harms way(read USB key). This way a visiting user could easily load their own or recall the factory layout.

There are quite simply too many ways of working to not have options - simply consider the UK/European/Genius user versus the US/LP user.

Taine

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Patching Issues

Post by gooze » Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:26 am

There are a lot of valuable suggestions for the patch in this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=380&start=0&st=0&s ... provements
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

fredthe
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:03 pm

Re: Patching Issues

Post by fredthe » Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:10 pm

gooze wrote:There are a lot of valuable suggestions for the patch in this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=380&start=0&st=0&s ... provements
When I try to look at this, I get "You are not authorised to read this forum."
Is this a secret forum of some sort?

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Patching Issues

Post by BrianEvans » Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:33 pm

That forum topic was in a section designated for our Beta Testers.

If you are a Beta Tester, feel free to send email to:
support@horizoncontrol.com
describing your use of the product, location, etc., and the administrator may decide to add your profile to the list.

Beta testers are folks running un-proven software,
and aren't afraid to "run with scissors". :)
Sorry for the confusion.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

Post Reply