Other timefields

Is this a feature? Is this a bug? Give us feedback to make it better!
Post Reply
User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Other timefields

Post by gooze » Mon Feb 11, 2008 5:12 pm

You cannot edit another timefield (positiontime, clourtime,etc) to be the same time as the whole cuetime. I do understand you will end up with a piece of redundant data if you do this, but sometimes it is your workflow to first change all the other times, so you keep track of what the total time of the original cue was.
So if a cue had a time of 30 seconds and you want split it up, you would first put the positiontime on 30 seconds, then the lenstime on 10/20, then te colourtime on 29/1, etc. and then end with putting the total cuetime (which changes to intensity time then) on a different value. Right now, ou cannot start with putting the positiontime on 30.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Other timefields

Post by gooze » Mon Feb 11, 2008 5:13 pm

Oh... and the controltime doesn't fade at all. It just snaps.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Other timefields

Post by RobertBell » Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:41 pm

gooze wrote:Oh... and the controltime doesn't fade at all. It just snaps.
Enumerated valueds (like recal and lamp on) don't fade as who knows what lies between them. Remember, it's abstract - not linear even though the specific protocol assumes a linear DMX channel.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Other timefields

Post by gooze » Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:30 am

I was hoping to fade my strobe to gradally slower. That isn't possible apparently.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Other timefields

Post by RobertBell » Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:37 am

Stobe is the exception as 1-14 hz is a linear section in an enumerated attribute. You definately can fade from 1 hz to 10 hz, you just can't fade from OPEN to 12 Hz. You need to write a follow on cue that take it (in a snap) from OPEN to 1 hz, then fade in time to 10 hz
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Other timefields

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:53 pm

Well that is a little annoying then - and I would report that as a bug if any of my clients showed it to me.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

User avatar
AlanMartello
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:00 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania USA
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Re: Other timefields

Post by AlanMartello » Tue Feb 12, 2008 4:44 pm

John - this one is a "slippery slope" ... what would it mean to crossfade from 5 HZ strobe to the value (that exists on some fixtures) of "Ramp Open Snap Shut" ?
I understand you probably are viewing "Open" as "0Hz" ... or is "Closed" "0Hz"...
Alan Martello, Ph.D. - System Architect - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Other timefields

Post by gooze » Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:03 pm

I would say
open = 0 HZ
closed
1 Hz
2 Hz
etc.
Specials like random slow, random fast, random medium.
So if you fade a strobe it will be open, then close, then starts to strobe very slow. I think this close is not really interupting the flow of things, because you will perseive it as the slowest flash.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

Post Reply