Page 1 of 1

N21 node used as network input

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2012 1:12 am
by TreGranier
OK I had a interesting situation the other day. The other day, I had a lighting designer bring in a Road Hog Full boar and I could not get two universes to work on one N21 node. I would hookup the first universe and it worked fine, when I would hookup the second universe it would work for a short time (5-15 seconds) and then it would go inactive. I have not had this problem with any other show that brought in a console. I ended up using two nodes to get through the show any ideas?

Re: N21 node used as network input

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2012 8:57 am
by BobbyHarrell
Sounds like a network issue but the fact that two nodes worked would indicate otherwise.

It would seem that it's in the node itself.

This would be something that tech support should be able to check for.

I'll alert them to this post.

Re: N21 node used as network input

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 1:51 am
by BobbyHarrell
I spoke with Doug Pickering (technical support manager) about this. Please email him the details of this issue as well as the software version on the node.

doug.pickering@philips.com

Re: N21 node used as network input

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 3:56 am
by BobbyHarrell
I believe there is a limit of 1 universe per node.

Re: N21 node used as network input

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 12:43 pm
by bnortin
I've done multiple universes (and small sections of universes) both in and out with a single N21 node before without any problem. I've never seen an issue like this before. I'm guessing that since you said this setup has worked before, all of the netslot & priority info is set the way it should be. If the 2nd universe only worked for a few seconds and then you lost control, maybe it could be a priority conflict? Did you have any of your consoles on and sending network DMX while the Road Hog was set up?

If you want to look into software, all of my N21's are running version 2.1.34 without any problems.

Re: N21 node used as network input

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:26 am
by TreGranier
Sorry for the delay in responding i will be sending Doug an email and working towards a solution. I will post a note once the problem is resolved.