MQ - outputs going off

Is this a feature? Is this a bug? Give us feedback to make it better!
Post Reply
richdesign
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 4:09 pm

MQ - outputs going off

Post by richdesign » Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:14 am

Ok, I am a ET Marquee, but I was hoping that since it was the predecessor to Strand Palette v10, that maybe someone on this board would have some suggestions for me.

the console yesterday began turning the outputs off. We had been going a long fine with rehearsals for a show until Monday night. Then we had to switch show files for a series of special events on campus over 3 days. Then yesterday switched back to the original show file. The outputs turned off about 3 times in 2 hours. We would go to the console after it had been idle for a little bit to bring up some lights and nothing would be happening, then we noticed it said outputs off. Each time we enabled the outputs and kept going. We restarted the system and I thought we were good at that point, but then during the rehearsal last night it happened two more times.

What I would like to try, but have not yet is loading a different show and see if it happens, and then also I would like to try running the show off of our backup CPU and see what happens. I'm just hoping it is not an issue with the console facepanel, because it seems like it might since it is acting like the console is getting unplugged from the CPU. I'm also going to try switching the USB cable.

Does anyone know of some kind of software setting or issue that would cause this? Any help would be appreciated.

Rich

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

MQ - outputs going off

Post by gooze » Sat Nov 05, 2011 1:22 pm

Sounds like your channel key isn't properly sitting in the USB port of your desk. Try to take it out and up it back in (maybe try a different USB port as well). You might need to restart the software afterwards.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

richdesign
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 4:09 pm

Re: MQ - outputs going off

Post by richdesign » Sat Nov 05, 2011 3:36 pm

I'll give that a try . . .

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2281
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: MQ - outputs going off

Post by BobbyHarrell » Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:19 am

I agree with Gooze. You could also try the channel key on a laptop to see if the problem stays with the key.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

DebraCecil
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 6:25 pm

Re: MQ - outputs going off

Post by DebraCecil » Mon Nov 07, 2011 11:24 am

You may not have a channel key with the Marquee because the channel authorization was often stored on the output card. When the outputs go offline do you notice that your hardware no longer works; such as when you bring up a submaster, nothing changes on the screen? Depending on the generation of your console, there was an issue with the USB connector and the power connector on the output card/panel hardware breaking. If the usb is bad, the panel will stay lit and on, but the computer will not respond. If the power connector is bad, the panel hardware will shut off along with its indicators and the computer will not respond. Try wiggling both connections on the hardware and see if you can cause the failure.

Post Reply