10.8.3 update no shownet

Is this a feature? Is this a bug? Give us feedback to make it better!
Post Reply
TreGranier
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 3:05 am
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Folsom Lake CA.

10.8.3 update no shownet

Post by TreGranier » Tue Sep 20, 2011 3:29 am

Hi
I work with a Light Palette Live and on trying to instal the latest update i lost all show net functionality, rolled the software back and and show net started working again. thinking i may have had a bad download i wiped my downloads folder and thumb drive and did a fresh download and transferred it to the console hard drive and tried one again, still no luck so i am currently running 10.8.1 and getting some some weird reactions, command line slow to show input and 3 to 5 second delay in it affecting changes.
any help would be appreciated
Ted.
Three Stages Folsom Lake College
Light Palette Live/Classic Palette II/Basic palette II
OS 10.8.4

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2281
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: 10.8.3 update no shownet

Post by BobbyHarrell » Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:16 am

My guess is you are being bitten by the ShowNet change. In 10.8.1, the ShowNet protocol was more forgiving than it should have been allowing for nodes that are not set up properly to function. The specifics are in the subnet mask.

If you log into your nodes, you will likely find that the subnet mask is not set to 255.255.255.0. Make that change and then upgrade and you should be fine.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

TreGranier
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 3:05 am
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Folsom Lake CA.

Re: 10.8.3 update no shownet

Post by TreGranier » Tue Sep 20, 2011 11:30 am

OK i will give that a look the next time i am a my theater, one thought tho is i haven't noticed a problem with the nodes i was preoccupied by my dimmer racks not responding as my link to them is shownet. the system was installed by a strand rep less than a year ago would the subnet mask still be the culprit, it just seams odd that the report net software would work and the ability to log in to the racks would work if the subnet masks wear not set right?
thanks
Ted
Three Stages Folsom Lake College
Light Palette Live/Classic Palette II/Basic palette II
OS 10.8.4

TreGranier
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 3:05 am
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Folsom Lake CA.

Re: 10.8.3 update no shownet

Post by TreGranier » Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:34 pm

ok made it in to my theater today sat at the console and pulled up the racks and nodes and looked at the setup and the network config and every thing was ok. looking around trying to think of what could be wrong (light bulb) the console network card. Problem solved now running 10.8.4
Thanks for the help
Ted G.
Three Stages Folsom Lake College
Light Palette Live/Classic Palette II/Basic palette II
OS 10.8.4

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2281
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: 10.8.3 update no shownet

Post by BobbyHarrell » Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:52 am

Glad it's all working again.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

Post Reply