Strange behaviour

Is this a feature? Is this a bug? Give us feedback to make it better!
Post Reply
paulbeumer
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:01 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: On tour with dance company
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Strange behaviour

Post by paulbeumer » Thu Jun 02, 2011 9:28 am

Hi
Yesterday i had trouble updating cues. I'm running the latest 'public' software version...
I don't know if this is a bug or a setup setting. Maybe you can help me out?

The 'strange behavior'..
After changing the intensity value off a channel i use the update key, to store the latest correction. Pressing the udate key resulted in a sort off go to next cue behavior. The same effect happend while using the shift-update keys or the record cue key.
The step back and step down keys did not work in a manner you can expect off them. Skip up in the cuelist did not work at all skip down resulted in a two step. A work around, Goto e.g. cue 12 resulted in going to cue 12 and an immidiate follow to cue 13 (while it supposed to be a 'wait for go' cue)

What happedend before.
Our flightcase has a small drawer underneath with small qwerty keyboard. Don't ask me why or how, but one way or the other some keys go stuck and triggered the palette software system setup. I have no clue if this triggered new behavoir or what changed in the settings.
But i know the strange update behavior started after this issue.

Solution seeking.
I've restarted the system. Waited a while, disconneted mains, waited some longer, opened the hood and checked iff all connections were still connected, took out our the usb desk ledlight, took out the ethernet connection... but eventually this did not restored 'normal' behavoir.

I called Goose if he new about this behavior and we talked through the basic setup vallues off hardware setting and show settings. A setting you can discuss throuhg a telephone call seemed oke... changing record cue live to delta helped for about cue 10 updates but then the bahavior returned.

I was wondering if there is a sort off command history file, to find out what could have happened during the moment my qwerty keyboard played around?
Does anyone have other clue's what could have changed or were i could look?

And in a more general context, are changes in the hardware configuration setup also recorded in a showfile? Is it possible to reset the hardware setup without doing a reinstall?

Hope you can help me out

Thx Paul

User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Strange behaviour

Post by MickCrozier » Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:44 pm

Hardware settings are not saved with showfile.

Reminds me of a friend who called in a panic when the console started running through the entire cuelist really fast...
His paperwork was pressing down the spacebar!

So some keys on the keyboard got stuck, fixed now but same issues are occurring intermitantly??
Have you tried unplugging the keyboard altogether?
Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

paulbeumer
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:01 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: On tour with dance company
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Strange behaviour

Post by paulbeumer » Fri Jun 03, 2011 4:29 pm

Thanks for your reply Mick.
Actually i did unplug the keyboard, not the mouse. As soon as i'm behind the board i'll unplug this one as well. (desk is on transport by now)

If this does not change the operation off our board, i can imagine the next step could be a fresh installation off the lighting software to restore it to it's default value's.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Strange behaviour

Post by gooze » Sat Jun 04, 2011 4:08 am

As unlikely as it may sound, most hardware settings are stored with the showfile. viewtopic.php?t=2278
Could you send the showfile so we can have a look at it?
The mouse is probably not causing the problem. If you keep your mouse on an area where clicking doesn't harm you can rule that one out.
Have you run the hardware test to see if any of the console keys might be stuck?
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2279
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Strange behaviour

Post by BobbyHarrell » Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:45 am

next time to find yourself trying a full reboot, unplug the AC line from the console as part of this. Power can remain on the electronics even in a full power cycle.

After that, try reinstalling the PaletteOS.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

paulbeumer
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:01 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: On tour with dance company
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Strange behaviour

Post by paulbeumer » Wed Jun 29, 2011 5:18 am

Thanks for the tips.
As soon as I'm behind the desk again I'll make acopy off the showfile and attach it to this forum.. Btw i think that changes in hardware settings can be rulled out. The setup off a new show did not showed any off the described behavior.

Post Reply