Palette OLE 10.8.3

Is this a feature? Is this a bug? Give us feedback to make it better!
Post Reply
at00plusatfull
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 2:52 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: New York City

Palette OLE 10.8.3

Post by at00plusatfull » Sat May 07, 2011 3:05 pm

Hello,
I have tried to install the Palette OLE (Off-Line Editor) onto multiple computers and operating systems and cannot seem to make if function.
Is there an install guide, OLE list of requirements, or any documentation relating to just the OLE anywhere?

First off, I have downloaded the OLE, and not the console software.

I have installed it on the following machines:
Windows 7 64 bit
Windows 7 32 bit
Windows Vista SP2
Windows XP SP3

I have also tried to run it on compatibly mode for almost all Windows OS and SP versions with even worse results.

Typically the splash screen comes up, the desktop view loads, but I only get soft keys relating to the Did You Know screen. It gives me a choice of "show at startup" or "next tip", neither of which will work or clear. There are no channel numbers displayed, and when I change the number of outputs, still nothing happens.

I have also tried going back to versions 10.8.2 and 10.8.1, but I get the same problem.

Since I do not see this pop up on any other posts, I tend to think the problem may be me (virus software, internet?), but I have tried this on 3 desktops, a mini laptop, and a full laptop, in two locations: work and home.

I hope this is one of those "aw shucks, silly me" fixes, and I apologize in advance if I am missing something very basic, but I have searched strand, horizon, strand-dev, and even open palette, alongside google to no avail.
Thank you!

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2280
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Palette OLE 10.8.3

Post by BobbyHarrell » Mon May 09, 2011 8:52 am

very odd indeed as I have not had any issues and just reinstalled 10.8.3 on a Win 7 64 bit machine with no issues.

You obviously answered the first question, make sure it's the OLE and not the console software.

Try redownloading.

Try disabling antivirus and reinstalling.

Not sure why you would be having such a systemic problem.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

at00plusatfull
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 2:52 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: New York City

Re: Palette OLE 10.8.3

Post by at00plusatfull » Tue May 10, 2011 12:12 am

Hi Bobby,
Thanks for the quick reply, and I am a huge fan of the Palette.
After disabling Anti-Virus, Firewalls, Malware, Spyware, and my underwear, I am still without P.OLE.
So, after a few hours of analyzing what all these computers had in common, including my colleague's failed install today, I was able to finally resolve the issue.

A program called "Team Viewer" (release 6.0.10511), which is a free (and awesomely handy) application similar to PC Anywhere was causing my issues, and is installed on all 7(!) computers I attempted to install to. After exiting the application, which runs in the background, the Palette OLE loaded normally and works perfectly.

Thanks again for the help and a great product!

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2280
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Palette OLE 10.8.3

Post by BobbyHarrell » Tue May 10, 2011 8:21 am

Great. As an FYI, Skype will cause issues as well.

Good to know. Thanks
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

Hydro
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:43 am
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Kalgoorlie
Location: Kalgoorlie WA

Re: Palette OLE 10.8.3

Post by Hydro » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:42 am

On that note, does anyone know if Stand are going to make a mac version of the OLE? perhaps a ipad version :P

Post Reply