bump button issue

Is this a feature? Is this a bug? Give us feedback to make it better!
Post Reply
User avatar
barbarab
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC

bump button issue

Post by barbarab » Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:04 pm

Hi, I'm running 10.8.2 on a silver Palette.

In our current show there is a lightning effect which I am manually flashing using the bump button on a submaster, in order to match it up with the sound cue. The cue in which this happens has an autofollow into another cue. What I notice is happening is that if I use the bump button just as the autofollow executes, the channel does not go out, but stays on, fading out in the time of the next cue. Unfortunately that is not what lightning should be doing...

Is this a function of the "busking" feature, which takes captured channels and folds them into the show when you take another cue? Should it be affecting a submaster?

thanks for any insights!
Last edited by barbarab on Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
barbarab
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: bump button issue

Post by barbarab » Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:37 am

I am able to replicate this each time I run the cue. If the bump button is engaged when the autofollow executes, the channel does not release. Is this a bug? In any case, it's ruining my lightning effect.
Also, if it's relevant, there is an effect written into the linked cue.

User avatar
barbarab
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: bump button issue

Post by barbarab » Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:45 pm

Okay, this just happened AGAIN in a public show.
I'm going to unlink the cue as a work-around. But I shouldn't have to!!

Any reason I am getting no response? Am I not explaining the problem clearly enough?

User avatar
TerryHynes
Posts: 574
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: bump button issue

Post by TerryHynes » Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:50 pm

Try changing the submaster type to Assertive.
Terry Hynes
Head of Lighting
Centre In The Square
Kitchener, Ontario
Canada

User avatar
barbarab
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: bump button issue

Post by barbarab » Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:16 pm

Hi Terry. Thank you very much for the response and the suggestion.
I changed the sub from additive to assertive, ran the cue again with the link, and the same thing happened.

As I understand it, the sub should take precedence even when additive, am I right?

MattKlasmeier
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: bump button issue

Post by MattKlasmeier » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:57 am

Can you post the show file so we can play with it? What cues does it need to be run in between to make it happen?

User avatar
barbarab
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: bump button issue

Post by barbarab » Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:55 am

Sure.
how i became a pirate_00035.spb
run cues 77-78 with look 25
(52.16 KiB) Downloaded 82 times
It's look 25... if it's engaged when cue 77 links into 78, it won't release. Does it every time. I find it puzzling because it doesn't seem to happen with the other submasters.
And I changed Look 25 back to Additive, since changing it to Assertive didn't seem to make any difference.
Thank you!

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

bump button issue

Post by RobertBell » Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:27 am

I'm not at a pc right now so have not looked at your show file (sorry). When changing to Assertive, you may have to close the look prop dialog box and reopen it to change the priority to match you cue list's.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

Post Reply