10.8.2 - Missing Keystrokes

Is this a feature? Is this a bug? Give us feedback to make it better!
Post Reply
User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

10.8.2 - Missing Keystrokes

Post by MickCrozier » Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:03 pm

Not as bad 10.6 beta.
We seem to miss the 'Go' - it's rare, but maybe once or twice a show - which is more than enough for concern

We've had the PVL64 for about 18 months now, and starting very quick behind it.
Is anyone else finding they need to slow down to let the software keep up - we often get missing keystrokes when working quick, for instance a missed number when typing the cue number and then hitting record - overwritting the wrong cue. I'm pretty sure we're not just physically not pushing the key (well, I'm sure that happens sometimes) - as all of my operators have reported this issue to me.

Cheers!
Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2279
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: 10.8.2 - Missing Keystrokes

Post by BobbyHarrell » Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:33 am

I find that this console has a "pace" that it's most comfortable at and it's different than the 500 series. I do sometimes have to shift gears a bit for this. Once I do, it's usually fine. But, you could (because of the Go button issue) push firmware to the tile and see if that helps.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

Oovis
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 11:40 am

Re: 10.8.2 - Missing Keystrokes

Post by Oovis » Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:35 am

Hi Bobby,

I was having this grief 18 months ago when we had a Palette VL in and I never understood why a modern computer motherboard running dedicated software on an embedded OS couldn't run fast enough to react to my key presses.

I found it completely unacceptable that I had to slow down to the pace of the machine when the machine is supposed to be working for me. The most distressing was the Go button. If there's one button that MUST work every single time it's pressed it's that one and missed cues because the desk can't keep up should never have made it off the software author's desk :o

Post Reply