RS232 serial open

Is this a feature? Is this a bug? Give us feedback to make it better!
Post Reply
jltsale
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:07 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Architectural
Where I Am: Denver, Colorado
Location: Denver, Colorado

RS232 serial open

Post by jltsale » Fri Aug 13, 2010 11:27 am

I am using bidirectional communication via RS232 with Lutron homeworks. I use an autorun cuesheet on Marquee startup to close the serial port and then open the serial port with

HC.SerialClose(1)

wait 5 seconds

HC.SerialOpen(1,'38400,N,8,1','script');

It opens the port MOST of the time. Sometimes it does not. The Lutron port is open all of the time. Can any one think of a reason that the command would not work everytime?

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: RS232 serial open

Post by BrianEvans » Sat Aug 14, 2010 9:13 am

If you exitted without closing the port, this is most likely the problem.
The macro you are using is only a macro inside of the software,
if the software launches, and WIndows comes back with a port not avaibale error,
this would cause problems.

If you are using macros to restart and such, be sure to close the port out before exitting.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

jltsale
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:07 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Architectural
Where I Am: Denver, Colorado
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: RS232 serial open

Post by jltsale » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:36 am

Brian:
I will close the port as part of my reboot sequence. How should I proceed when the program crashes?

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: RS232 serial open

Post by BrianEvans » Tue Aug 17, 2010 6:09 pm

One thing you may want to try is a delay BEFORE the serial close command.
I have noticed that system level things can get missed when so much is going on when launching the software.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

Post Reply