10.6.2 Blind Update

Is this a feature? Is this a bug? Give us feedback to make it better!
User avatar
JoV
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 9:37 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Europe - Belgium / Holland
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Contact:

10.6.2 Blind Update

Post by JoV » Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:22 am

A customer gave me this information, I could recreate it succesfully. Could someone confirm and add this to bugtracker ?

Problem while succesfully updating a look in Blind, going back to live and updating a cue there.
The values that are selected in live for the update are updated in Look #1 instead of the desired Cue.
All of the other info stored in Look #1 is gone except for the channels you just updated.

Example:
Go to Blind - Looks
Update a look (eg. look 3) with channels 3+4 to 80% and press [Update][Enter] --> Update is done properly
Switch immediately back to live
Run a cue (eg. Cue 2) Select some channels and give them intensity press [Update] without enter --> Command line shows "Update *" as an executed command
There has been no update in Cue 2.
If you now look at your look #1, the channels you wanted to update in your live cue 2 are updated in Look #1
All other information previously stored in Look#1 is gone...

FYI - Edit
Update when leaving blind can be both set to on or off for this to happen
Doesn't have anything to do with single or double digit or press enter mode... Happens in all of them
Attachments
upd_blind_prob.PNG
upd_blind_prob.PNG (42.19 KiB) Viewed 2006 times
BARNDOOR Belgium / Holland

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: 10.6.2 Blind Update

Post by RobertBell » Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:55 pm

:added: FS#1715 - Update after running cue post update in blind bails
Thank you - nice reporting
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
IvanMunro
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:26 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Head of the lighting department, Flemish opera
Location: Belgium; Antwerpen & Gent
Contact:

Quick fix: Blind Update

Post by IvanMunro » Sat Sep 19, 2009 2:27 pm

I am the customer who asked Jo about this issue.
We discovered this while programming the first full show on the Palette series for the Vlaamse Opera.
We did find a quick fix solution for this problem.

If you create a look page called "Empty" (for instance) and bump this page to the top of all look pages and you make sure you do not record any looks into this page.
Then the updates do get edited into the proper cue instead of into the first look the desk finds.

We would like to see this bug fixed but in the last 10 days or so of programming we have not encountered the problem of the blind update issue.
If you are used to using the 'Sub page 1' on your virtuall subs/subs or playback faders you will have to get into the habbit of selecting the right Look page, but this is a minor thing compared to not knowing what you are updating.



Ivan Munro
Head of lighting, Flemish Opera
Ivan Munro

Head of lighting, Flemish Opera
Antwerp & Ghent, Belgium

User avatar
mat
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

Re: 10.6.2 Blind Update

Post by mat » Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:12 pm

still here and very,very,very annoying one..... :x
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: 10.6.2 Blind Update

Post by RobertBell » Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:46 pm

Bumped. I think Gooze was reporting this earlier (without much success repo).

FYI - the contents of FS 1715 is:
have a cue list with two cues
be in cue 1
go to blind
alter a level and update a look (mine already existed)
update on command line is correct and you and press update to complete command line
go to live
press GO to go into cue 2
alter a level
press update
update happens immediately (update *) and
1 - the deltas are lost
2 - the sub you updated is way wrong now (only the delta - other data gone!)
3 - the cue is not updated
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 10.6.2 Blind Update

Post by gooze » Mon Dec 07, 2009 4:34 am

I think it looks very much like the thing I was reporting, but I only experienced it with positionlooks. Could very well be a related issue.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
Brennan
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:38 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Foothills 130 KM East of the Canadian Rockies.
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: 10.6.2 Blind Update

Post by Brennan » Tue Dec 08, 2009 6:45 pm

I have also found this Update bug but haven't had time to track it down properly.

I have gotten into the habit of looking at the "Update" button every time I leave Blind. If it is blinking I do a 3x "Rel" before doing anything else.
Brennan Berry
Palette Live
v10.8.5 May 17, 2012
v10.8.2 December 10, 2010
v10.6.4 February 24, 2010
v10.6.3 January 11, 2010

House Lighting Technician
Southern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
brennan.berry@gov.ab.ca

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: 10.6.2 Blind Update

Post by RobertBell » Thu Apr 01, 2010 4:51 pm

Fixed today.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
IvanMunro
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:26 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Head of the lighting department, Flemish opera
Location: Belgium; Antwerpen & Gent
Contact:

Re: 10.6.2 Blind Update

Post by IvanMunro » Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:06 am

1st April joke?
Ivan Munro

Head of lighting, Flemish Opera
Antwerp & Ghent, Belgium

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: 10.6.2 Blind Update

Post by RobertBell » Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:08 pm

3:51PM. I was told to never joke after noon. It's fixed.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

Post Reply