Page 1 of 1

10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 9:15 pm
by MickCrozier
I stop a bump FX (using the record delta method). When recording the stopping cue, it stops.
When I go back a few cues and [GO] into the fx cue, then to the stop cue - the fx still runs.
However if I assert the stopping cue (or jump to the stopping cue) it does stops.

And It also seems that the current step of the effect is being recorded into the cue (even with minus subs)

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 10:32 pm
by BobbyHarrell
Can you post a showfile and let us know where the effect is and how you are trying to stop it?

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 11:45 pm
by MickCrozier
here you go

starts q 2 (recorded live minus subs)
in q 3 I stopped the effect, selected the relevant channels, knocked them out, recorded as delta
in q 6 I again stopped the effect, set them the relevant channels to zero recorded delta (yes they were delta'd)

if you jump, or assert any q after 2, the effect will stop (with a stuck level on the fx step in this case)


I can't seem to replicate the step recording to the cue problem (on the offline editor now)... must be going mad

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:22 am
by gooze
It is very important that the effect is recorded and stopped using record delta. Otherwise it doesn't work properly (not predictabl/sometimes works, sometimes doesn't/unreliable).

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 7:42 am
by MickCrozier
So it also needs to be recorded delta as well... :cry:



I pleade to the lovely folk at Horizon to make FX the top priority, there are too many bugs, and worse (IMO) catches.
Pretty please. The frowns on my operators faces are killing me...
I beg, I grovel, "polish you shoes sir?"

Everyone I know that touches this desk says the same things - 'Seriously Awesome, but the FX kills it'
Don't get me wrong the FX concepts are flipping awesome, but they either don't quite work the way we want (eg. cue list chase don't run while fading, can't alter fade time for individual cues), or they have seious bugs (eg. magic fx when not set to continuous) and most have catches that trap the newbie (the whole delta thing, which we have to do due to bugs).

I'll do anything... I'll even keep my clothes on.... :D

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:53 pm
by gooze
:D !
And I completely agree!

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 10:20 am
by RobertBell
Not falling on deaf ears - but PLEASE keep your clothes on.

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Posted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 10:44 pm
by MickCrozier
So i've been digging up info ssf import and found this post from Gary
The jist of it - Bump chases should not be recorded into cues, because they can't be stopped by a cue

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Posted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 11:12 am
by lebh
Effect - Duration - Active cue