10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Is this a feature? Is this a bug? Give us feedback to make it better!
Post Reply
User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Post by MickCrozier » Fri Aug 28, 2009 9:15 pm

I stop a bump FX (using the record delta method). When recording the stopping cue, it stops.
When I go back a few cues and [GO] into the fx cue, then to the stop cue - the fx still runs.
However if I assert the stopping cue (or jump to the stopping cue) it does stops.

And It also seems that the current step of the effect is being recorded into the cue (even with minus subs)
Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2358
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Post by BobbyHarrell » Fri Aug 28, 2009 10:32 pm

Can you post a showfile and let us know where the effect is and how you are trying to stop it?
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Post by MickCrozier » Fri Aug 28, 2009 11:45 pm

here you go

starts q 2 (recorded live minus subs)
in q 3 I stopped the effect, selected the relevant channels, knocked them out, recorded as delta
in q 6 I again stopped the effect, set them the relevant channels to zero recorded delta (yes they were delta'd)

if you jump, or assert any q after 2, the effect will stop (with a stuck level on the fx step in this case)


I can't seem to replicate the step recording to the cue problem (on the offline editor now)... must be going mad
Attachments
B FX Test.spf
(34.91 KiB) Downloaded 69 times
Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Post by gooze » Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:22 am

It is very important that the effect is recorded and stopped using record delta. Otherwise it doesn't work properly (not predictabl/sometimes works, sometimes doesn't/unreliable).
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Post by MickCrozier » Sat Aug 29, 2009 7:42 am

So it also needs to be recorded delta as well... :cry:



I pleade to the lovely folk at Horizon to make FX the top priority, there are too many bugs, and worse (IMO) catches.
Pretty please. The frowns on my operators faces are killing me...
I beg, I grovel, "polish you shoes sir?"

Everyone I know that touches this desk says the same things - 'Seriously Awesome, but the FX kills it'
Don't get me wrong the FX concepts are flipping awesome, but they either don't quite work the way we want (eg. cue list chase don't run while fading, can't alter fade time for individual cues), or they have seious bugs (eg. magic fx when not set to continuous) and most have catches that trap the newbie (the whole delta thing, which we have to do due to bugs).

I'll do anything... I'll even keep my clothes on.... :D
Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Post by gooze » Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:53 pm

:D !
And I completely agree!
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Post by RobertBell » Sat Sep 05, 2009 10:20 am

Not falling on deaf ears - but PLEASE keep your clothes on.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Post by MickCrozier » Wed Feb 24, 2010 10:44 pm

So i've been digging up info ssf import and found this post from Gary
The jist of it - Bump chases should not be recorded into cues, because they can't be stopped by a cue
Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

lebh
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 2:11 am
Location: Beijing China

Re: 10.6.2 - Stopping a Bump FX in cue issue

Post by lebh » Thu Feb 25, 2010 11:12 am

Effect - Duration - Active cue

Post Reply