More Ram??

Is this a feature? Is this a bug? Give us feedback to make it better!
Post Reply
User avatar
Buffy
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 7:02 am
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Midlands Ireland
Location: Dunamaise Theatre Portlaoise
Contact:

More Ram??

Post by Buffy » Fri May 30, 2008 9:34 am

We are having trouble with a lag on the Classic Palette (10.3.1). The desk can take quite a few seconds to respond to commands. Last night for example I counted 7 before it switched from sub pg 1 to sub pg 2.!! I realise that there is a lot going on in the background but it makes it very difficult to keep up with the designer if the desk takes this long to respond. The hardware version we have is quite early (2ghz processor,6 Pin Aux socket at rear).. is there an argument for upgrading the ram?

Frustrated of Portlaoise
Let's just use the 23

robhillig

Re: More Ram??

Post by robhillig » Fri May 30, 2008 9:43 am

At the moment the answer is going to have to be don't open that case.

Here at the factory we are experimenting with RAM configurations and their affect on performance.

I would be curious to see how your show ran on my console. Would you be willing to share the file with us? What are the exact conditions of this (what cues were running, what S/w version)?

User avatar
golights
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:58 pm
Location: South Of Atlanta

Re: More Ram??

Post by golights » Fri May 30, 2008 10:00 am

Buffy, I have found the best way to deal with this issue is during breaks in the programming I will save, then close the show file I am working in and then reopen it. For some reason this lets the console act as it should. This lag in responce only happens when we are programming and we don't have problems with the lag time while running a show. This is not a fix for the problem but should help when the lag time becomes unbearable. Give this a try and see if it works for you.

User avatar
Buffy
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 7:02 am
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Midlands Ireland
Location: Dunamaise Theatre Portlaoise
Contact:

Re: More Ram??

Post by Buffy » Fri May 30, 2008 10:47 am

Thanks for the tip golights, I'll give it a try.


Rob it's not a lag when your running a show it's during plotting that the lag occurs, I'm sitting behind the other progammer at the minute and he is having the same problem with switching sub pages, we're running 10.3.1
Let's just use the 23

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: More Ram??

Post by BrianEvans » Fri May 30, 2008 11:09 am

10.3.20 has performance enhancements, and the next few Betas I am told will have major ones.
I have a Palette 32/64 with only 256MB of RAM and I am already noticing improvements.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
Harrison
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:03 am
Location: Uk
Contact:

Re: More Ram??

Post by Harrison » Sat Aug 02, 2008 6:01 pm

robhillig wrote:At the moment the answer is going to have to be don't open that case.

Here at the factory we are experimenting with RAM configurations and their affect on performance.

I would be curious to see how your show ran on my console. Would you be willing to share the file with us? What are the exact conditions of this (what cues were running, what S/w version)?

viewtopic.php?f=31&t=786

Have a look there Rob. I complained about ram issues back then. I have however found a big improvement on the newest software version. The palette I recently used on two shows worked surprisingly better while programming and slightly laggy while operating (according to the operators). I can send you two more show files if you like to have a look?

O and I'd just like to say that the desk hasn't crashed once in the 4 weeks I've used it while on these two shows. A far cry from a while ago :)

I can't really agree or disagree with what Buffy is saying. As a programmer, I don't use sub pages as i find looks and just using [@] [colour] [#] or [@] [position] [#] is a lot quicker and more efficient
Harrison Cooke - Programmer/Production LX - http://www.harrisoncooke.com

Post Reply