Color Picker

User submitted ideas for how we can make the Palette and Light Palette Consoles better
Post Reply
User avatar
golights
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:58 pm
Location: South Of Atlanta

Color Picker

Post by golights » Wed Jul 14, 2010 4:41 pm

When text match is used with color, could the color picker also be listed with rosco, gam, lee ect. It would save some time when I have a Tool all ready selected.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by RobertBell » Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:08 am

Do you mean that the colour picker image should change to Rosco if you use the Rosco library with the picker? The issue is, the colour picker only pumps in raw Col A,B,C values - not palette references.

I'm sure if you've noticed (but for those who have not), when you activate the ColorPicker, the softkeys populate with the different libraries. S2 is your Color Palette Look Page, S3 is Rosco etc.
ColourPickerRosco.jpg
ColourPickerRosco.jpg (45.85 KiB) Viewed 3526 times
S1-Palette match will take the current Live Col A,B,C values and find the closest palette to those values and replace them with a palette. Handy with Color - even more handy when using Position. ("Hmmm... didn't I already build a position close to that chair?")
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
golights
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:58 pm
Location: South Of Atlanta

Re: Color Picker

Post by golights » Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:19 pm

Robert,
I would like to have access to the color picker as I would with the rest of the options. Maybe stick it in S7 and move the sub pages down 1 or stick it in S 10. I have used the palette match for position and it works really well. Great time saver when you have a lot of position palettes built.
Attachments
color picker.JPG
color picker.JPG (18.44 KiB) Viewed 3500 times

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by RobertBell » Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:07 pm

gotcha - how about S12?
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
golights
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:58 pm
Location: South Of Atlanta

Re: Color Picker

Post by golights » Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:31 pm

S12 sounds like the right place for it. Thanks

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by TaineGilliam » Fri Jul 16, 2010 3:50 pm

Great Idea to have S12 activate the Color Picker when doing a Color Text Match it would save a step.

Of course, I'd like it to still stay as a tool but NOT have the use of the new S12 change the "current" tool.

Taine

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by RobertBell » Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:03 am

:added: 167
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by TaineGilliam » Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:50 pm

BUMP

User avatar
jfarrow
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:42 pm
Primary Venue / Use: University
Where I Am: Toronto, ON
Location: York University
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by jfarrow » Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:16 am

I had a student make an interesting suggestion with regard to the color picker. He wondered if he could use the Next/Previous key to cycle through the active color library. For example if our VL1000 are in R19 could he select "Text Match" then "Next" to move to R20? Do other users think this would be useful, would it be easy to implement?

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by RobertBell » Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:14 pm

Sounds neat.
Not exactly the same thing (mostly because of the Rosco numbering and text match filtering) but handy to know this: If you hold down shift while pressing the softkeys, the command will not close. It will set the fixtures to those values, but pressing another softkey allows you to preview more (on the same page) without having to re-select the text match command.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

Post Reply