Page 1 of 1

*Shift* RelPB

Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:15 am
by Straker
We are currently running a palette VL and have come across a potential issue (hasn't happened yet but really a matter of time).

With the current hardware layout the cut back (up arrow) and GoTo buttons are located either side of the Release Playback button. When an operator is running a show and wants to go to a cue in time (ie to skip several cues without crashing through them) they are dangerously close to each other.

The traditional bottle top solution doesn't work due to the button location so...

Would it be possible to have release PB only actionable when shift is pressed as well? We don't want to disable the button entirely in hardware setup but have it safed from an inadvertent press.

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:35 am
by TaineGilliam
I believe Shift-RelPB is already taken by "Release all Playbacks".

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:57 am
by RobertBell
Increase your REL PB time to something long. The deal is, though, that if the operator notices it, the audience will too. At least it won't go black in a hurry.

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:38 pm
by JohnGrimshaw
Rel PB Time - not an ideal solution.
[Shift] + [Rel PB] - not available

I would like to see another solution that actually gives you a logical command line syntax to release a cue list...
- Double Tap ANY of the [Rel PB] keys, to release the currently selected cuelist in the display
- Single Tap puts "Release Playback (CueList 1 - Main Cue List)" in the command line - enter to execute. Typing a number selects a diffect cue list to release. Typing "Next/Prev" toggles through the list of active Cue Lists.

...The bracketed selected cuelist is first auto selected by:
LP - the first "other" cuelist after the currently selected cuelist (because a double tap releases the selected one)
CP - forced to place in the brackets THAT cue list from where the key press happened, OR the next active cuelist if the one normally on that playback is already released.

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:35 am
by Straker
Putting on a long release playback time doesn't really solve the issue it makes the button fairly useless if you do actually want to release it.
JohnGrimshaw wrote: I would like to see another solution that actually gives you a logical command line syntax to release a cue list...
- Double Tap ANY of the [Rel PB] keys, to release the currently selected cuelist in the display
- Single Tap puts "Release Playback (CueList 1 - Main Cue List)" in the command line - enter to execute. Typing a number selects a diffect cue list to release. Typing "Next/Prev" toggles through the list of active Cue Lists.
I would like to second this. (Its a much better idea than my initial one)

Makes the single button press much less of an issue and makes much more sense to boot.

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 1:06 pm
by TaineGilliam
Once again John has come up with a nice clean solution - the idea of extending his syntax to include [Time](S-key or hard key) would be even better.

Maybe the M-keys could populate with the available Cue List with "M1-All Cue List"

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:14 pm
by RobertBell
Nice stuff everybody!
:added: FS#1726 - make Release PB (Rel-PB) go to command line

Re: *Shift* RelPB

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 8:15 pm
by JohnGrimshaw
...maybe I should get a job with Philips. But then again, who would sell the consoles in Australia.

This thread is classic example of users identifying a problem, and the mothership moving to fix it. This is what makes a console easy to sell - thanks Robert.