Page 1 of 2

Disabling Buttons

Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:33 pm
by mgutowski
I have searched the forums and no luck.
Although I haven't read the manual, so if it's in there then I suppose I should RTFM (try to figure that one out, it will be funny when you do).

We had a situation last night during a show. We had a volunteer OP on the board and she managed to hit the [HELP] key and then she froze and didn't know what to do. It was a simple solution of hitting release and bingo we're back into the show, and the audience isn't the wiser! Except we had the volunteer factor and we sat in the dark for 90 seconds before we got someone up there to figure out what went wrong!

...... ___
...../ . . \
.....\__o_/ <OH NOES!
.......|.|
.====|..|====
.......|_|
.....//...\\
.._//......\\_

That's right Mr. Stick Thing! We have a lot of volunteer people at our venue who use the board and having someone in the booth consistently for when they are running the board so we can look over their shoulders is a little crazy for us.
I was wondering if there could be a way to disable the help button so this can be avoided; [SHIFT] + [HELP] is what I'm thinking of, except could there possibly be key profiles that can be applied to the console?
For instance profile one just has the cue stacks go, halt back, and a few other things like goto available to the user for input but LIKE [Shift] + [Help], the rest of the keys on the console if pressed do nothing at all?
It was such a pain yesterday to have to deal with something so simple with someone who doesn't know jack about the console. If the idea could at least be pondered or some clarification/ideas on the matter as to how I would go about fixing this would be greatly appreciated.
I know that if they don't know how to work the console they shouldn't be in front of it (I read that some where here on the forums), but in reality over here, we have a lot of volunteers during local community theater events and to have someone in front of the console who is a volunteer and they know how to work it perfectly is a bogus wish. Essentially I need to volunteer proof the console haha!

Thanks everyone! Oh, and Happy New Years!

Re: Disabling Buttons

Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:12 am
by amoyer
Once I had a chance to look at the key layout on the console I was even more confused as to how this was possible. Why was the operator's hand near the help button anyway? It's not even close to the Go button. Silly volunteers. It's really no different then the 500 series consoles that if the operator put it into help they would have a problem getting the next cue executed too. I suppose the help button was a little further from the operator, but not really any further from the Go button.

As for the suggestion, the [Shift]+ [Help] is something that is going to confuse some people I believe. [Shift] already has a lot of uses and using it as a way of locking a key from a user is a bad idea I think.

Re: Disabling Buttons

Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:35 am
by RobertBell
[SHIFT] + [HELP] is Lock Console (that's in there now!)

I think we need an option for this. But What that option includes is debatable. I have a dream that one day we'll have a much sexier SETUP screen that is configured by a simple XML file that I can edit and add (at will) options for this or that and users will be able to edit it in some nice GUI (think MS Properties Boxes) and load/save profiles. We'd ship some simple templates (500 UK, 500 US, Classic Palette, Hog, Expression) and users could tweak any bit of it. It would not be scary as they could easily revert to one of the profiles. It would also have a FIND option, so it would not matter how big it got. It's only a dream I've had for about year and would solve all these sort of requests.

Re: Disabling Buttons

Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 2:56 am
by amoyer
While it wasn't sexy, this goes back to having the 220map.cfg file on the 500 consoles. You could actually do just about anything you wanted with that. Move the buttons around, disable buttons. Restoring back to a standard default was a little more difficult as it involved dos and that scared a lot of people, but it was possible.

Having the ability to revert back to a default profile would definitely have to be there as a way to support the console when something goes wrong. I'm sure the factory would insist on it.

Re: Disabling Buttons

Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:57 am
by Kuni
Hi there,
I think Robert are not so much away from that what we need: A "security system" with different Login´s (may be with passwords) for different situations. May be there are: Operator (can do anything), Volunteer (can run a show), Light Designer (can do nothing).
A nice dream is that we have the choice to decided yourselve what is allow or not in a nice GUI and store it with different passwords. Is this possible in LUA?

Re: Disabling Buttons

Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:14 am
by RobertBell
Kuni wrote:Light Designer (can do nothing).
Oh - how I laughed out loud when I read that. I know you mean Remote Video only - but out of context it is very funny.
Kuni wrote:Is this possible in LUA?
No - because every control (softkey, menu, dialog box) is not exposed to Lua. We'll have to do a major project in the UI to accomplish what I've been talking about.

Re: Disabling Buttons

Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 12:29 am
by mwh
I would certainly have a use for user names and passwords on our console. Is there any way to do this? Could it be included in a future release?

Re: Disabling Buttons

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 10:03 am
by Kuni
RobertBell wrote:
Kuni wrote:Light Designer (can do nothing).
Oh - how I laughed out loud when I read that. I know you mean Remote Video only - but out of context it is very funny.
Hi Robert,

what I mean is Remote Video on the console. Because some of this L&%&/%$§$ D%&%$§ like to sit in front of the console eg. during rehearsle without lighting and "play".
After such a rehearsle you will not find the show you plot before.
So, the best soution is to have a user login with different passwords (ok, sorry for that: like the 5x0 have) and everything will be fine.

Re: Disabling Buttons

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 6:37 pm
by TaineGilliam
Maybe even a password you set in the show file / console that is required for the remote session to be more than video? Nothing very hi-tech just a simple one step authentication. By setting it in the console it is easy to change/ delete but would prevent a casual user from messing about.

Taine

Re: Disabling Buttons

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 12:08 pm
by mwh
I spent about an hour on my console, and was finally able to find a workaround to the "automatic login" of the "op" user. I'm sure that neither Strand nor Horizon would offically support this, but once I found my way into the user accounts control panel on the Windows system, I was able to set up logins for each of my crew members so that we can always track who logged in when, in case something goes horribly wrong. If anyone is interested in trying this, I would be happy to post instructions here.