Page 1 of 2

Definable Home Positions

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 3:56 pm
by MattKlasmeier
Is it possible to have an option for definable home positions? I ran into an issue with a Right Arm. Due to the fixture mounting the standard 50/50 was far from 50/50. What I needed was a button called "mark home tilt" and "mark home pan". This would allow me to set the fixture in what I needed as home and mark it for one or both attributes of pan and tilt.

Re: Definable Home Positions

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:16 am
by RobertBell
[Tools][S12-More] [S4-Fixture Offset]

Release all cue lists and subs
Move all the fixtures of interest to your desired 0:0
Apply this tool
Release Release
They should stay there and their values are now Pan=0 Tilt=0

It's damn handy for touring too when the side-arms in the booms are off by 20deg and you have 40 position palettes to update.

Re: Definable Home Positions

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:21 pm
by TaineGilliam
You are right Robert the offset is very useful. I also see a great use for a definable home position - not so much to compensate for bad hanging positions but to create a more usable default. This would be more helpful in a live environment than a typical theater.

Taine

Re: Definable Home Positions

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:07 pm
by MattKlasmeier
I believe this is a function that Brian wants too. He always mentions something about the castle can't go dark. So much for storming the walls when they can't see.

Re: Definable Home Positions

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:00 pm
by BrianEvans
Yeah, fixture offset is deffintely a different animal than what I would like to see.
I would like to simply record a look, and have that look be default.

I have never pushed really hard because if you write everyting into an LTP look,
you get the desired effect.

Back to the days when park wasn't very usable in the software.

Re: Definable Home Positions

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:57 pm
by kroctd
Hey All,

We are fairly new owners of our Palette VL (just about 6 weeks) and are still growing into it from our 300 series console. I tried to follow the snippet of instructions in this thread but can't figure out how to apply the tool. I wonder if what is posted applies to OS 10.6. If someone would be so kind as to list a little more detail for a new VL owner, it would be greatly appreciated. When I followed the instructions listed in this thread, I got a large grid marked position on top, but am not sure if that is what I should be seeing and if it is what to do with it.

Thanks in advance.
chris

Re: Definable Home Positions

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:49 pm
by RobertBell
Release all cue lists and subs
Move all the fixtures of interest to your new desired 0:0 (or other attributes to what you want as a default)
Shift Tools
S12-More
S4-Fixture Offset
Assign Changes to Fixture Offset
Release Release
All changed attributes should stay where you left them and their values may now be (say) Pan=0 Tilt=0

Re: Definable Home Positions

Posted: Sat Apr 03, 2010 1:46 pm
by kroctd
thanks Robert. That help couldn't have come at a better time. We hosted a Russian pop concert last night which relied heavily on our movers. This was the first time we used them to such extent and I had to figure out all the requested shapes and effects. As both the board and movers are new to our facility, I was starting from scratch. Being able to set a new home position was crucial to generating enough shapes and colors to get through the show with only 2 hours programming time. Couldn't have done it without your help.

chris

Re: Definable Home Positions

Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 12:23 pm
by RobertBell
Rock on!
That's a nice story. Thanx

Re: Definable Home Positions

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:45 pm
by jfarrow
It seems to me that Offset defines a base value, not a home position.
I'm trying to set a scroller so thats its default home position is at 53% (this is where the designer placed the N/C frame). If I use offset, 53% become my minimum value (such that I can not get to the frames below 53%), not the default value. Is there a command that will achieve what I'm trying to do?

Thanks