Help with creating an effect

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
gafftaper
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:18 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other School
Where I Am: Washington State

Help with creating an effect

Post by gafftaper » Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:29 am

I feel a little dumb asking this because Gary covered it sort of in my training... but I'm a little fuzzy on the effects generator.

The current show I'm working on has a scene with people watching a film on a projector and we want to see the light flickering on their faces. Not owning a strobe my solution was to put two instruments side by side and have the turn on and off as fast as possible alternating. I've been messing around with "random strobe" and "flicker" in the effects generator. But I'm not getting what I'm looking for. Can I get some suggestions of what to try and also It would be really helpful to get a simple definition of the parameters:
Rate, Scale, [min] Max, and Xtimes

Also trying to make two Apollo Right arms move around briefly at random to look like search lights during a prison escape. I'm not sure where to start with that one. I got the profile I need made for me (thanks Horizon folks) but all I find in the effects screen are intensity effects, not movement ones. I'm doing something wrong here.

Thanks
Mark
Edmonds C.C.
Don't Worry. I've screwed up bigger shows than this!

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Help with creating an effect

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:44 am

Don't worry about feeling dumb - it does take a little time for anyone to get a handle on effects...

With the flicker, did you want a regular repeating effect (like a film shutter), or and random effect (like the image they are watching is being reflected in their faces)?

I would suggest "flicker" and maybe get the lights to flicker between 30% and 60%.

To get to the movement effects:
1) select the fixtures you want to "effect"
2) Hit the "Position" soft key
3a) On the CP: Hold shift and double tap S2 or S3
3b) On the LP: As above or hit the encoder button above the encoder.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Help with creating an effect

Post by RobertBell » Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:35 am

If you haven't yet - have a look at this show file. viewtopic.php?f=29&t=390 It has lots of ideas about what sort of parameters do what on more general fxs.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

gafftaper
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:18 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other School
Where I Am: Washington State

Re: Help with creating an effect

Post by gafftaper » Tue Apr 08, 2008 1:16 pm

Thanks. Yes I'm trying to get the idea the idea that they are in a dark room and the images are reflecting off the screen and back onto them.

I'll take a look at that file.

Can I get definitions of the parameters:
Rate, Scale, [min] Max, and Xtimes
Don't Worry. I've screwed up bigger shows than this!

gafftaper
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:18 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other School
Where I Am: Washington State

Re: Help with creating an effect

Post by gafftaper » Wed Apr 09, 2008 12:23 am

Well I figured it all out and got some cool effects. Thanks. Now I have three follow up questions:

First, I would still like to know what those terms mean.

Second, I've recorded a base cue. I go back and add in an effect to some of the lights. What is the proper sequence to re-record the cue with the effect built in? It took me several attempts using both update and record to get the effect to actually record... and I'm not sure which combination actually worked.

Third, can we get the position effects moved to the top menu? You should be able to push effects and have the choice of new intensity effect, new movement effect, or new color effect depending on the capabilities of the instruments selected.... position, shift S2+ S2... that's buried a little deep don't you think. Is it color shift S2+S2 to get to the color effects generator?
Don't Worry. I've screwed up bigger shows than this!

belfastdec
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:13 pm

Re: Help with creating an effect

Post by belfastdec » Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:35 pm

Having the same problems with fxs myself. Cant seem to get my head round them either !!
I record them or update them to a cue, but they dont run when i press GO . I seem to have to double click on the cue number itself to get it to run . I also could nt seem to release it from a certain cue and update . Any help would be great

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2281
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Help with creating an effect

Post by BobbyHarrell » Wed Apr 09, 2008 4:20 pm

Rate is speed.
Scale is squishing the hi and low values. So on a standard effect (square wave wrap), scale at 100% would give you hi at 100 and low at 0, if you start squishing then you get hi at 90 and low at 10, hi at 80 with low at 20 and so forth.
xTimes will breakup the channel grouping into multiple chunks. Again with a standard square wave wrap for channels 1 thru 10, xTimes of 1 will just go 1 then 2 then 3 and so on. With xTimes of 2 then the 1 thru 10 gets divided into 2 chunks so you get 1 and 5, 2 and 6, 3 and 7 and so on.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Help with creating an effect

Post by amoyer » Thu Apr 10, 2008 12:05 am

BobbyHarrell wrote:With xTimes of 2 then the 1 thru 10 gets divided into 2 chunks so you get 1 and 5, 2 and 6, 3 and 7 and so on.
That should read, "...so you get 1 and 6, 2 and 7, 3 and 8 and so on."
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

gafftaper
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:18 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other School
Where I Am: Washington State

Re: Help with creating an effect

Post by gafftaper » Thu Apr 10, 2008 5:23 am

Thanks for the terminology.

What about the proper way to save an effect? I had the same problem as "belfastdec". I had it so it would work if I stepped forward into a cue but wouldn't work if I hit go. Then suddenly after just hitting both update and record in different orders I finally got it to save and work from the go button.
Don't Worry. I've screwed up bigger shows than this!

User avatar
AmberTomlin
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:13 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Trade Shows
Where I Am: London, UK
Location: Strand Lighting Europe

Re: Help with creating an effect

Post by AmberTomlin » Thu Apr 10, 2008 5:29 am

Hi All

Sorry I've come a bit late to this conversation..

Mark you were asking about the correct way to update an effect into a base cue. you could either...

1. Record your base cue
2. select channels required in effect
3. add an effect to them using the softkey S10
4. [UPDATE] [UPDATE]

or...
1. Record your base cue
2. select channels required in effect
3. add an effect to them using the softkey S10
4. [REC] [CUE #][ENTER]

I've written a few pages on in the ins and outs of effects, which can be found on the forum under user documentation. Heres the link for it .. viewforum.php?f=22

Hopefully it should be able to direct you as to where to find things, and under what menu!!! :)
Amber Tomlin

Key Account Manager - UK
Philips Entertainment

Post Reply