Page 1 of 2

Dimmer CEMs

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:18 pm
by sirsparky
So I have to ask this because this question has been burring in the back of my mind ever since I first saw the Strand SCR dimmer racks. Why is the CEM placed at the users feet? Why not put it at a more user friendly level where you do not have to get on your knees to do anything with it? It just does not make much sense.

Re: Dimmer CEMs

Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:45 am
by robhillig
Mark Staiff was looking for you yesterday.....

Short answer is it couldn't go anywhere else...

Long answer is that the "chimney" effect is how the rack cools, so having a rack processor in the middle would mess that up...(ala a certain three lettered named product that shall remain nameless.) Huge improvement is that you can now surf into the rack from the comfort of you're Barco lounger if you wish.

Re: Dimmer CEMs

Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:06 am
by BrianEvans
Dimmers don't get hot! Geez! :)

Re: Dimmer CEMs

Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:11 pm
by robhillig
BrianEvans wrote:Dimmers don't get hot! Geez! :)

nah... In FL they just rust.....

Re: Dimmer CEMs

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:54 am
by KarelBartak
Are you using processors a lot? I installed several racks and have not seen any of my users to use it yet. For configuration issues is mostly best way to use PC and web browser. Only few tweeks you need to do directly from processor and you don't do them more than once...

Re: Dimmer CEMs

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 8:58 am
by BobbyHarrell
I'm speaking for Scott here so he'll have to confirm or deny but he is just commissioning a new theatre that he is in charge of so he's getting familiar with his new system. Probably wants learn how to be able to deal with things locally (at the processor) and remotely (from a PC).

Re: Dimmer CEMs

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:36 pm
by RobertBell
Doesn't each rack get shipped with one of these? http://www.kneepads.com/ ;)

Re: Dimmer CEMs

Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 2:41 am
by sirsparky
I have yet to be given my free knee pads. And yes it is sometimes nice and more practical to check status of a circuit at the dimmers. But is it possible to unlock internet explorer on the PDA remote and directly login to your racks from that? Just a thought.

Re: Dimmer CEMs

Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:03 am
by gooze
You could use the internetexplorer on the console...

Re: Dimmer CEMs

Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:59 am
by sirsparky
Yeah, but sometime the console is not where and when I need it to trouble shoot a particular challenge facing me at that moment. Just a thought.