Pan moves in 0 seconds

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Pan moves in 0 seconds

Post by gooze » Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:01 am

Could someone explain why in cue 116 the Pan moves are in zero seconds? They are using the correct wait time, but not the correct pan time. Tilt is correct.
Another issue with this cue is that if I would change the profile on the pan/tilt to the (self-made) Random profile it wouldn't stay on that profile. I cannot figure out exactly when it goes, but at least when I reopen the show it had been replaced by another profile (I think it is always damped).

This is tested on 10.0.1


EDIT: I must add that I actually quite liked the fact that pan is moving in 0 seconds. I wouldn't know how to make it delibarately (maybe in two separate cues...)
Attachments
Popopera Amiens 080223.spf
(50.42 KiB) Downloaded 61 times
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Pan moves in 0 seconds

Post by RobertBell » Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:59 am

Which fixture's Pan? I don't see it.

What I wonder about is that there is no intensity on any of your moving lights in Q116, so how do you know; what are you looking at on stage?

When you look at the cue running from the TIMES window, do you see the snap time on pan and the countdown on tilt?

Maybe this is related to the fact that when I load the show, I'm seeing a DAMPED profile on them (as you suggested). Where you using Random or Random2.

BTW - you followed the rules for creating profiles for cues which are it must start at 0:0 and end at 100:100
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Pan moves in 0 seconds

Post by RobertBell » Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:16 pm

Also note that fixtures 1-6 are in Linear Movement. Is that an issue? We've fixed a bug (not released yet) with GOTOs causing fades to crazy values with Linear Movement. Try changing to Polar for Q116 and tell me if that makes a difference.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Pan moves in 0 seconds

Post by gooze » Thu Feb 28, 2008 1:03 pm

RobertBell wrote:What I wonder about is that there is no intensity on any of your moving lights in Q116, so how do you know; what are you looking at on stage?
The lights are on lowhangers (drop-bars), so I let them move without the lights on, to mimic the dancers underneath. I am seeing the light turn around in zero seconds and then doing the pan.
RobertBell wrote:you followed the rules for creating profiles for cues which are it must start at 0:0 and end at 100:100
I found out the hard way (endless trial and error) that profiles that don't obey this rule, simply don't show up in the list. Took me a while!
RobertBell wrote:Also note that fixtures 1-6 are in Linear Movement
I need them in linear movement most of the time, so I made all my positiongroups using linear movement. I am on Wysiwyg right now, so I cannot check if this might help. I am seeing the crazy movements if I use any other method than GO to go to another cue.

The other (I think separate) problem is that of the profile value, that doesn't stay at "Random" or "Random2" but returns at a certain moment to "Damped"
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Pan moves in 0 seconds

Post by RobertBell » Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:54 pm

Profile not sticking :added: FS513

You didn't answer me regarding which fixture it was and if you could see it in the TIMES window.

I don't think MIB should be an issue here as Q117 doesn't bring them up. Do you agree?
I am seeing the crazy movements if I use any other method than GO to go to another cue.
Right - we've fixed that, but not released it.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Pan moves in 0 seconds

Post by gooze » Thu Feb 28, 2008 4:46 pm

It is fixture 1 > 6.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Pan moves in 0 seconds

Post by RobertBell » Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:35 pm

Not to be persnikity, but can you see it in the TIMES window. And (more spcifically) when you watch it in the Levels grid, do the P and T columns slit so that there is not a palette name centred between them (with a line extending to the left edge of Pan and the right edge of Tilt).
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Pan moves in 0 seconds

Post by RobertBell » Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:39 pm

I don't see that in the fixture grid.

I'm now looking at it in the OUTPUT monitor and see what you are seeing. Will have to debug.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Pan moves in 0 seconds

Post by RobertBell » Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:45 pm

looks like a linear move to me - It's doing what it is designed to do.

Q 109 is HOME (straight down)
Q 116 - the next cue is on the Guitars US

You are asking it to do a linear move to upstage. To do that linearly, the pan must go in zero time and then it just tilts directly upstage. If you had the light ON, you would see this linear move. It only looks odd to you becuase you don't have the intensity up and you're looking at the head. If you watch the spot of light moving, it would do exactly what you've asked of it.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Pan moves in 0 seconds

Post by gooze » Thu Mar 06, 2008 8:39 am

This took me a while to understand. In fact any tilt value other than zero would slow the pan movement down considerably.
Thanks for your answer. Better than a sudoku :)
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

Post Reply