How to use demo mode

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

How to use demo mode

Post by gooze » Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:56 am

Could someone explain to me how to use demo mode with wysiwyg. Both are installed on the same computer.
The install of wysiwyg works when I am using the real console over the network, but not from the OLE on one computer to wysiwyg on another computer (using the same network) or using both programs on the same computer.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: How to use demo mode

Post by RobertBell » Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:44 am

Are you using Shownet?
Have you answered yes to the large nasty warning boxes twice?
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to use demo mode

Post by gooze » Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:56 pm

I do, I have. I found out that it only works from two separate computers is that correct? Or can you make some internal fake network connection?
And... does the autofocus function work?
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: How to use demo mode

Post by RobertBell » Thu Feb 28, 2008 4:13 pm

Shownet should work on one computer. Pathport, for sure, must be on seperate computers.

AutoFocus does not work.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: How to use demo mode

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:54 pm

Not wyg, but I have used ESP Vision and Palette on the one computer.

Palette set up as normal (not on a console)
ESP VIsion IP Address was 127.0.0.1 (the loopback IP address)

Worked a treat.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

User avatar
KarelBartak
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:42 am
Location: Earth, Europe, Prague
Contact:

Re: How to use demo mode

Post by KarelBartak » Fri Feb 29, 2008 4:43 am

What about install of ShowNet/Wyg driver...???

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to use demo mode

Post by gooze » Fri Feb 29, 2008 7:08 am

I did install all the nescesarry drivers. I will try with this IP adress 127.0.0.1 John said. Were do you have to fill this out?
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: How to use demo mode

Post by RobertBell » Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:08 am

Feb 29 - We're looking into this. Seems there may be an issue with old drivers.

Bobby says it works with the DLL on his web site found here:
http://www.bobbyharrelllighting.com/con ... tware.html
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2282
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: How to use demo mode

Post by BobbyHarrell » Sat Mar 01, 2008 1:41 pm

It does with separate computers. not on the same one.

It did at one time and we are looking in to why it doesn't anymore.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to use demo mode

Post by gooze » Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:51 am

It was fixed. Appears to be broken again. (OLE 10.3.6 with Wyg release 21)

EDIT:
It appears you have to re-install the Strand Wysiwyg drivers everytime you do something to your wysiwyg install (upgrade, re-install, etc.)
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

Post Reply