captured fixtures

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
User avatar
mat
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

captured fixtures

Post by mat » Sun Feb 17, 2008 3:05 pm

here is my problem:
i m in live, i capture a fixture,give it a level, and after i press[go] to continue the show.the fixture stays onstage until i reselect it. I m ok with that.
But i would like to have the possibility,as in the 500 series,to release the fixture in cue's time when i press[go].
Is it possible to set it in show option?
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: captured fixtures

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:40 pm

You CAN put the capture and release times on the A/B or C/D faders (hardware setup), but it might be easier to dump it to a spare submaster (if you have one) and manually fade it out with your cue.

I do like the idea of telling lights to "Release with next cue GO" - that could be quite helpful.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: captured fixtures

Post by RobertBell » Mon Feb 18, 2008 9:47 am

HARDWARE SETUP|CONSOLE has Hold Delta Levels check box. If you uncheck this, you're in 500 land where advancing cues assert their levels (not tracked levels BTW unless you physically Assert the cue list).
Maybe what you want is a GOTO option that temperarily turns this feature on for the next GO, then reverts to the hardware setup condition.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
mat
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

Re: captured fixtures

Post by mat » Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:47 am

my idea is to automaticly release fixtures i captured in live when i press go.
cue 1 is on stage.
Unfortunatly the actor goes in the wrong place on stage and i have to capture fixtures to light him.
If i press go my fixtures will stay onstage but i don t want it ,because cue 2 is good.
what i want is the audience not to see a weird fading between my two cues and the fixtures i have to release manually in time.
In my thougts i want to have the possibility to capture fixtures in case of emergency as i would do with a submaster but most of all releasing it easily in time without any consequence viewable by the audience (imagine a 2,30 mn fade out to do with the wheel :o )
Hold delta levels works with a fixture already in a cue.What I describe is with a fixture not in a cue.
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: captured fixtures

Post by RobertBell » Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:02 pm

Another option is RELEASE IN TIME (SHIFT @)
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: captured fixtures

Post by gooze » Tue Feb 19, 2008 4:25 pm

Release on Go. Also if the next cue doesn't have information for that channel. So you need to force a cue state here. High on my wishlist too.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: captured fixtures

Post by RobertBell » Tue Feb 19, 2008 4:28 pm

That would change every GO into a GOTO NEXT CUE IN CUE TIME (or ASSERT CUE IN CUE TIME). Not sure we want to do this. Essentially we currently have a move-fade board (except in GOTOs). I'll ask others to comment.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
AlanMartello
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:00 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania USA
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Re: captured fixtures

Post by AlanMartello » Tue Feb 19, 2008 4:33 pm

I share Robert's concern of always wanting that behavior vs. wanting it for "just the next go".
Alan Martello, Ph.D. - System Architect - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: captured fixtures

Post by gooze » Tue Feb 19, 2008 4:36 pm

Coming from boards that are non-tracking: what's wrong with this. I think computers are fast enough nowadays. Same is the fear of redundant data... It's not nice to have that data from a programmers point of view, but the computer can cope...
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: captured fixtures

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:08 pm

So what you want is a syntax that says something like:
1 thru 5 [Release in time] [Cue] 5 *
Releases those channels with the out time of selected cue.

This is how I would solve it using the current capabilities of the desk as a manual control...
- Record those levels into a new cue list "ReleaseInCueX", activates the cue and release those channels.
- puts a "special" macro into the trigger cue that sends a "release" to the second cue list (release time is the fade time of the designated cue).

Now, if you could do THAT as a single command line string, that would be powerful!

This also gives you the flexibility to release those channels early if you want to.

At the end of your show that night, you can review the newly added "ReleaseInCueX" cuelists you have created, and work out what you want to put in the show permanently.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

Post Reply