UPDATE

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

UPDATE

Post by gooze » Tue Feb 12, 2008 4:21 pm

Back in the beta days there was a long discussion about Record vs Update.
The discussion was never properly ended. Could someone of the development team explain exactly what does what?

I think it is pretty straightforward, but the fact that update adds submaster information (yellow levels without delta) to a cue is making it difficult to understand.
Would it just be that update is: "Store everything you typed to make an already existing cue look different"?
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: UPDATE

Post by gooze » Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:12 am

The default value for update is now UPDATE + SUBS. You can change this to UPDATE - SUBS by pressing [SHIFT]+[UPDATE] and then selecting this option. It is sticky but only for one session. As soon as you reboot the console it defaults. This should be either changed to be sticky for a certain showfile or to have a default value of UPDATE - SUBS.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: UPDATE

Post by RobertBell » Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:17 am

:added: FS485
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: UPDATE

Post by gooze » Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:32 pm

Sorry to bother, but this is really important...
Could the default Update mode please change to:
[Delta] -Subs and
[Selected] -Subs
Or make it sticky over console reboots. I always forget after a reboot of the console to 'teach' the console again that it shouldn't bother about what's up on the submasters.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: UPDATE

Post by RobertBell » Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:39 pm

FS485 is to make it saved in show file (and - in future - template files). From a FILE|NEW, you will still get the default to be (as requested by Strand) + Subs.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

RobHalliday
Posts: 286
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK (mainly)
Contact:

Re: UPDATE

Post by RobHalliday » Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:27 pm

Requested by Strand?!!!!

Update should not add the content of subs.

Update should do things you have changed manually at the command line.

Rob.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: UPDATE

Post by gooze » Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:27 pm

If anything is to ne done to update, this still is a huge request! Please ask again someone from Strand that actually uses the desk... ;)
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

Post Reply