Page 1 of 1

Palette and Qlab control.

Posted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:33 am
by sean
Hi,
I want to trigger the Palette using Qlab and need to buy an expansion card for the Light Palette. I'd just like to know if there is any configuration required within the desk settings in order for it to receive msc messages once the expansion card is installed. Thanks in advance,
Seán.

Re: Palette and Qlab control.

Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 8:48 am
by BobbyHarrell
I don't believe the Qlab and Palette communicate with each other directly at this point. It may be something that I'm not aware of and will ask the software engineers about.

Re: Palette and Qlab control.

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 10:30 am
by gooze
You can open a telnet connection in qlab and send lua commands. If you search in this forums I wrote an example script.

Re: Palette and Qlab control.

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 11:09 am
by BobbyHarrell
Thanks Gooze. I had forgotten about that.

Re: Palette and Qlab control.

Posted: Tue Sep 09, 2014 8:42 am
by sean
Presumably if the midi expansion card has midi in then the console can receive msc messages?

Re: Palette and Qlab control.

Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2014 2:49 pm
by bnortin
I do MIDI triggering from QLab to the Light Palette quite a bit and it works great. The MIDI card installation is easy, the only thing you need to check are the dip switch settings on the card to assign the console to a MIDI Device ID. The only downside is that you're limited to either MIDI ID 1 or 2, but since almost all other devices can be set to addresses 1-126 it shouldn't be an issue. Once installed, it should start receiving MIDI commands.

To trigger QLab from the console, check the option for MIDI output on a cue list in the cue list properties window. QLab cues will be triggered by the corresponding light cue, so light cue 1 will trigger the QLab cue with number 1, regardless of the QLab cue list. I believe the MIDI output from the Palette is on channel 127, which is an all-call (Bobby - please correct me if I'm wrong) so it should send MIDI commands to anything plugged into the board regardless of that device's MIDI ID.

I've found that it's usually easier to trigger the Palette via QLab because you can specify cue list and cue number for each MSC cue, so it seems a little more flexible.

If it helps I can attach a sample QLab show file with MSC cues programmed so you can see an example.

Re: Palette and Qlab control.

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 10:13 pm
by pierlavoie1
Hello Bryan,
if the offer still stands, i would like to see an example of QLAB triggering the Palette. Thanks!

Re: Palette and Qlab control.

Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:05 pm
by bnortin
Attached is a QLab show file that was created in version 3.1.11. There is an example of an MSC cue to trigger light cue 1 in the first cue list on a Palette/Light Palette set to MIDI device ID 0 (I believe that's the device ID assigned by default on the MIDI card from the factory).

In the MIDI cue's settings tab, you can make adjustments depending on what you need to trigger:

Device ID - The MIDI device ID that is set by the dip switches on the MIDI card in the console. This will likely never change unless you run multiple consoles.
Cue number - The number of the cue that is triggered. If this is left blank, it will just trigger the next cue in the cue list. I always specify the cue number to be on the safe side, but it's not necessary.
Cue list - The first cue list on the Palette/Light Palette is cue list "0", the next one down is "1" and so on.
MIDI Destination - Once your MIDI output device is setup in Workspace Settings, it should appear in this drop down box. If it says "No Device", the MIDI trigger won't be routed to an output.

I've also included some hot key scripts that I use regularly to create and edit MIDI cues. They are all labeled with the hot key trigger and a short description.

Shift+Ctrl+A Rename Cue To "Light Cue q_number": Creates a cue name in the cue list that corresponds to the cue number in the MIDI settings tab. This will only work if you specify cue numbers in your MIDI cues.
Shift+Ctrl+S Create New MSC "GO" Lighting Cue For Next Light Cue: Creates the next whole number MIDI light cue trigger. Allows you to create 1 cue to adjust and confirm settings, and then select the working cue and press the hot key to create the next one with the same settings.
Shift+Ctrl+D q_list of Each Cue to "0": Script for changing the cue list number for multiple cues. Select the cues you want to change and press the hot key. If you need to modify the cue list number, go to the Script tab and change the "0" to the cue list number you need.
Shift+Ctrl+? Change deviceID of ALL MIDI Cues in Current Cue List (TOGGLE 0;1): Toggles the device ID between 0 and 1 for all selected cues. I believe those are the only possible MIDI device IDs for the Palette/Light Palette. Very helpful if you have multiple consoles.

Hope this helps. Let me know if you have any questions.