Page 1 of 1

tracking backup

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:23 am
by mat
Is there special proceedings for tracking backup between two light palette (under vista)?
I experience weird things:
sometimes it works fine and sometimes I have to try 7 or more times to succeed.
I tried every thing, restart consoles, restart software...
I still don't understand the way it behaves.

Furthermore, when I have the window they says "connection lost going to live? with the countdown,if I click on OFF I have a blackout for 1second.

ideas?

Re: tracking backup

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:09 am
by BobbyHarrell
A couple of questions...

Are both consoles on the same version of software? Assuming they are, can you try using a laptop as the tracking backup and see if you can find a pattern here?
I've seen tracking backups behave strangely depending on the network setup. You may want to check your network settings. Also try this without anything else connected to the network. Another thought is to try this without a switch but just use a crossover cable between the two consoles. This will tell you if it's the consoles or now.

Re: tracking backup

Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 11:01 am
by mat
the two consoles haven't the same control panel:
one is 6.0.7.1
the other is 6.0.6.2

could it be a problem?

Re: tracking backup

Posted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:25 pm
by BobbyHarrell
Got this from the software team...

I am told that as long as both systems are running the same engine, the problem points to the network.
Tracking backup is very high bandwidth Multi-Cast.
Their network switches must be able to handle this high amount of traffic.

If they are using network DMX protocols, it could further amplify the issue.

Re: tracking backup

Posted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:49 pm
by lebh
Can improve the following two questions:
1.Merge Remote mode and backup mode for the full tracking backup mode
2.Solve Palette series in backup mode Fader sync issues.